Friday, August 31, 2012

Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories - Book Promo




Genre: Romance, Erotica, Fantasy and PNR.
Date Publsihed: 

Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories has a little of everything. From your everyday Contemporary Romance (The Getaway) To your Hot and Heavy Rockers turned Werewolves (Crave) and your Sci-Fi Paranormal with Erotic overtones…. (The Genesis Project) Each Episode will entice its readers, draw them in. A quick Bedtime story before they dream, keeping them pleasantly satisfied while peaking their interests for next month’s installment. All for 99 cents. During the interim there will  be previews of next month’s Episode…



   
Tigris Eden:
Author of Shadow Unit Series, 1st Book Enslaved In Shadows... I love all things books! Music
and much more! I write PNR, Contemp, SCI-FI, Erotic, and HORROR..... Yes I love the gore!
Currently working on Burned In Shadows... Due out sometime in January 2013.
There isn't much to say about me truly... I am not that interesting... But I promise to make you
laugh at least once!

Ty Langston:
As a child, multi-published author Ty Langston loved to read about dragons and knights so
much that one day, her grandmother told her to "just write about them."
So she did.
From that day forward, she never left home without her pen, a notebook, and some kind of
music playing in the background. Her love of reading expanded from fantasy into science fiction,
and eventually into paranormal romance and erotica.
She enjoys different works from George Martin, Anne McCaffrey, Stephen King, and Jackie
Collins. But some of Ty's favorite writers are from the world of TV and film: namely, Tudors
creator Michael Hirst, and the late John Hughes.
Ty has a certificate in Broadcast Journalism along with a degree in Business Administration.
She is single and enjoys spending time with friends and family.

Riley Ross:
To date I haven't published anything yet but I love to write wrestling fan fiction, romance and
light erotica. I will be married for fifteen years this month to my best friend and Prince Charming
all rolled into one. I am mommy to two Syberian Huskies.





Find Romantic Tales: Bedtime Stories:










 Reading Addiction Blog Tours



Texas Haven Review & Giveaway





Texas Haven (Dawson Ranch, #1)

Sexy ,Rancher Burke Dawson wants a family- including a wife who has no expectations of love. Burke never bargained on Annie Douglas. Searching for a place to belong, Annie Douglas heads to Texas, hoping to discover the one thing she had never had, love and passion.

Deciding not to act on their attraction, they part ways. Burke continues to search for  a wife, but he realizes that only Annie will do. Annie heads back to her lonely life in New York City and her controlling Stepbrother. Annie is thrilled when Burke proposes.

Annie’s Stepbrother tries to stop the wedding, he doesn’t want her to know about an inheritance she is supposed to receive upon her wedding day.  Failing that, he hires Burke’s caustic ex-wife, Alice to break up the marriage at any cost.  Alice has plans of her own that include her remarriage to Burke. She just needs  to get Annie out of the way.

Misunderstandings, accidents, and treachery cause Annie to return to New York, shattered. Finding herself pregnant, Annie heads back to Texas only to hear from Alice that Burke denies that the baby is his.

Discovering Alice’s misdeeds, Burke throws her off the ranch. He tries his damndest to lasso Annie once again. Nothing seems to work. Making one last effort, Burke takes Annie for a walk under the Texas stars and gives  her the one thing she wants most- his heart.

 Kathleen Ball      Author Bio

A voracious reader, Kathleen quickly discovered the world of romance novels and she knew she was home. Kathleen wrote her first book two years ago. She was shocked to find out that people loved what she wrote. All of Kathleen's novels are award winners. Callie's Heart is her first published novel. It is the first book in The Lasso Springs Series. Kathleen lives in Texas. She moved there from Rochester, New York and is having the time of her life exploring Texas culture. Kathleen is married to her wonderful husband Bruce and they have one son, Steven. They just welcomed new additions to their family, a new daughter in law, Brittany and her cute as a button son, Colt.
She feels blessed to be supported in her writing by her family and friends.

Twitter @kballauthor 
Purchase Links:







Excerpt: 
Annie felt enchanted. For all the show of not liking cats, Burke seemed attached to this one. If only he had given her a better name.
After a delicious dinner of steak, potatoes, and homemade biscuits, they sat on the porch swing in the front of the house. The night had cooled pleasantly with a refreshing breeze blowing the prairie grass back and forth. Long-stalked sunflowers bent and danced to some unknown ballet. Annie closed her eyes and took it all in. She wanted to make a memory of this place, of this moment for when she was back in New York. It was going to be harder to go back to her stark existence after this perfect night. She looked at Burke’s profile hoping to memorize it too. There was such strength in his features from his square jaw line to his crooked nose. She wondered if he had broken it in a fight. His eyes were so blue that she had gotten lost in them many times throughout the evening. All of Annie’s nerves tingled as her arm brushed against his. There was no doubt about the attraction they had for each other.
“Have you always lived on this ranch?”
Burke grinned. “All my life.”
“It must have been nice growing up here with your family.”
“Well, my mother was a saint of course and my father… let’s see, how can I describe him without chasing you away? He was a strict old son of a gun who was about as mule-headed as a man could be. It was his way or you suffered the consequences. I guess you could say that I was a slow learner.”
Annie put her hand on his arm. “I grew up basically the same way. I know all about consequences.”

* * * *

They sat on the swing in complete silence. The sky was beginning to darken. Burke put his arm around her, pulling her close. He could feel her tremble at his touch and it humbled him. He couldn’t remember a time when a woman had such a reaction to him. The urge to pick her up in his arms and carry her to his bed was strong but he didn’t dare. He didn’t think she was the type for a one-night stand and that was all he was willing to offer.
Although he found her damn attractive, she was off limits. All he needed equated to an unpaid housekeeper not a woman that probably had no practical skills, even so, she was very tempting. There seemed something so vulnerable about her that it made him long to protect her.
He made the mistake of looking down at her upturned face. Her luminous green eyes trapped him. Unable to resist the pull of her he carefully leaned down and brushed his lips against hers. He only intended for the kiss to be brief, but she tasted like honey and he had to have more.
Annie moaned as Burke kissed her again. He swiped his tongue along the seam of her lips, coaxing her mouth open and deepening the kiss. His arms tightened around her, pulling her close to him. She smelled of sunshine, sweet and warm. Reluctantly he let her go. Annie smiled back at him anyway, and it pleased him. She looked lovely in her yellow sundress with her curly auburn hair falling down her back, and he couldn’t help but admire her cute figure.
 Gently, he removed her arms from around his neck and looked down at her with hooded eyes. Highly aroused by her, it was by sheer willpower that he stopped his advances. Her bruised lips looked inviting to him and her eyes shone with pleasure. God he wanted her. Burke smiled at her enthusiasm. The last woman in his house had overtly insulted every inch of it. He could hardly believe her reaction. She seemed genuine in her pleasure over everything. But, he reminded himself that it didn’t really matter. Burke grinned as he watched her scoop up the cat and whisper in its ear, her happiness so apparent. For a second he was glad that he adopted that ornery cat.
Regretfully, he stood up and moved away from her. “It’s been fun.”
“Yes it has,” Annie stood. She wobbled a bit and made her way to the porch stairs. She looked at Burke with her heart shining in her eyes. “Maybe you could consider me as a candidate for a wife?” she asked quietly.
He hesitated, not knowing what to say.
“Never mind.” She hurriedly rushed down the stairs to her car.
Maybe in another life, it would have worked, but he knew what the ending to their story would be.





Texas Haven (Dawson Ranch, #1)





Juls Review 
Well I’m not gonna lie, the start was kinda disappointing. The harsh childhood that Annie had and the horrible things she went through made her very wary of men but Burke comes into the picture and she turns into a love sick spineless girl. And also the love scenes were a bit choppy. But towards the middle things picked up with a kick!

Now with that said, I loved the rest of the book. Alice, Burke’s ex comes into the picture and all hell breaks loose! Annie has to literally fight for her life! 

Alice comes to Burke under false pretenses and stupidly Burke allows her to stay with him and his new wife, Annie. Not wanting to get burned again Burke wants to marry just for a partner and possibly children. He and Annie come to an agreement and voila they are saying “I do”.

Little do Burke and Annie know but Alice is working with Annie’s abusive stepbrother Sonny to get the inheritance that was left for her from her mother and believe me, the amount is staggering!!! 

Every time something happened to Annie she would accuse Alice and Burke never believe her. This kind of reminded me of the movie Hush with Gwyneth Paltrow. The mom trying everything to get rid of the new wife. Well that’s what Alice was doing. Very creepy! I cant tell you how upsetting it was to have Burke not side with Annie. He just didn’t want to face anything or even protect his wife. I was NOT happy with him!

It takes one horrible accident and witnessing an act that is unforgivable for Annie to get up and move on with her life. She grows that spine that she lost when she fell for Burke at the beginning and becomes a woman of worth.

I still don’t understand why Burke was the way he was. Even after Annie left he had Alice stay with him. I just couldn’t believe how clueless he was and to feed of off Alice’s lies just made me cringe at his stupidity! 

Lots and lots of misunderstandings and miscommunications between them led them to where they weren’t together. Had this marriage been a “normal” set up I think maybe they wouldn’t have fought love even though it was staring straight at them! 

Giveaway


How To Enter:

****Leave an email w/ your comment so we can reach you :)  ****

Extra Entries-
**Like Mandy Baggot  on  Facebook  +1

**Follow   Mandy Baggot on Twitter @mandybaggot +1

** Tweet this contest  w/ @UpAllNightRevie  and a direct link back to this post +5
** Follow  @UpAllNightRevie  on twitter +5
** Be a follower via GFC of  Up All Night Reviews  (Left sidebar) +5  





Reading Addiction Blog Tours
DISCLOSURE – Please place somewhere in the post for all reviews!
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Reading Addiction Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Reading Addiction Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*




 



Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Tempting the Best Man by J. Lynn

Tempting the Best Man (Gamble Brothers, #1)Tempting the Best Man by J. Lynn
My rating: 5 of 5 stars







1st book in the Gamble Brother's Series
Madison Daniels has worshiped her brother's best friend since they were kids. Everyone thinks she and Chase Gamble would make the perfect couple, but there are two major flaws in their logic. 1) Chase has sworn off relationships of any kind, and 2) after blurring the line between friends and lovers for one night four years ago, they can't stop bickering.

Forced together for her brother's wedding getaway, Chase and Madison decide to call a truce for the happy couple. Except all bets are off when they're forced to shack up in a tacky 70’s honeymoon suite and survive a multitude of "accidents" as the family tries to prove their "spark" can be used than for more than fighting. That is, if they don't strangle each other first…




Juls Reivew 
Friends to lovers-my favorite theme :)

LOVED LOVED LOVED this book! this book can get away with being short. Both Chase and Madison have known each other all their lives so when they do finally say "I love you" you sigh along with them.

Oh dont get me wrong, there were lots of fighting before it got to the sweet words and those fights always ended with them locking lips. Now when they finally got down and dirty they finally understood where things were going, or did they? yep, thats right, misunderstandings stood in the way of what could have been some more mind blowing sex but nope, cold shoulders and pretending neither existed won out :(

I really enjoyed the sexual tension between them cuz when they got together it was like fireworks!

Need by Sherri Hayes

Need (Finding Anna, #2)Need by Sherri Hayes - Book 2
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Grr on the cliffhanger! Another year is too long to wait :)



As Brianna comes to terms with the realization that she is no longer a slave, she must figure out what she wants for her life. Forgetting her past isn’t an option. It is an integral part of who she is now, and it will forever shape her view of life. The one thing she knows is that she cannot imagine her life without the man who saved her, but can she be what he needs? 

Stephan never imagined falling in love with the woman he rescued, but the thought of her no longer being part of his life is physically painful. The scars from her past continue to haunt her, and he is helpless to stop them. All he can do is try to help her work through the traumas of her past. Can he be everything she needs and help her move on?

The two must figure out how to navigate not only their relationship with each other, but also the outside world. A friend from Brianna’s past shows up where she least expects them, and Uncle Richard continues to enforce his well-meaning agenda to get Brianna more traditional help. As forces, both friend and foe, threaten to tear them apart, Stephan and Brianna have to navigate the turbulent waters and find what they need in each other



Jen's Review 

Loved this series though - I read Slave and Need back to back. I really loved how the books flow together.

In Slave we learn about Brianna’s past year and how Stephan helped her overcome her fears.

This book is more of the same, only on a more intimate level.
Stephan's feelings for Brianna blossom, and Brianna starts feeling things for Stephan she just can't figure out.

She is learning more of what is to be expected of her from Stephan, but still scared that she can't be "MORE" for him. Or what he wants her to be, as a sub.

For every step they take forward, something seems to take her a couple steps back. She is getting better at voicing her opinion and dealing with her surroundings,

And when she's attacked at the Fundraiser, and saved by an old family friend of her father's, she starts to look at Cal as a friend, even though he and Stephan clearly don't get along.

I really love the deep emotions that this book stirs up. I kept thinking "Poor Stephan" every night, but he seems like the perfect Dom. Helping her in every way, and being as patient as he is.

I know they'll get though whatever is going to happen in the next book - just wish I could read it and find out sooner rather than later :)


Juls Review 

Brianna was severely broken, body mind and soul. Need takes you on a journey of how Stephen, an amazing man who has the patience of a saint, took all his time and energy to slowly bring Brianna back to herself. 

Stephen didn’t want her to burrow into her shell so he would take her out in public as much as possible. There were some incidents that could have been prevented but those moments showed Stephen what really happened to Brianna during her time with Ian. Ian was truly an evil man.

Stephen knows it’s not going to happen overnight but with every kiss and every touch, small or big, brings Brianna back to who she was before she was taken. 

I can’t really say there were fireworks when they finally came together because really their love making was way more than that. It was more than beautiful, it went beyond that.

I was pleasantly surprised by the end. I didn’t think there was going to be another book. I can’t wait to find out more about Brianna and her past.

Slave by Sherri Hayes

Slave (Finding Anna #1)Slave by Sherri Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow - just... wow -
I have to think about this review -




Stephan has lived the lifestyle of a Dominant for five years. After several rebellious teenage years, it gave him the stability and control he had been seeking after his parent’s death.

As president of a not-for-profit foundation, he knows what his future holds and what he wants out of life. All that changes when a simple lunch with his college friend and Mentor, Darren, leads him to buying a slave.

Thrust into a situation he never thought he’d be in, Stephan can’t walk away. He is compelled to help this girl in the only way he knows how.

Brianna knows only one thing, she is a slave. She has nothing. She is nothing.

Can Stephan help Brianna realize that she is much more than just a Slave?




Jen's Review 
I've read books about Dom/sub - new subs that have no idea what to do. I've read books that mention Slaves - a 24/7 Dom/sub relationship...

but this book goes way beyond that.

Breanna was in a situation that she couldn't get out of. She had been abused in so many different ways, sexually, physically and emotionally. She was utterly broken.

When Stephan got a call from an old friend telling him he ran into a Slave that doesn't want to be where she is, Stephan's big heart melted. Opening up his wallet, he went to buy this Slave, to try to give her the freedom that she deserved. Only when his eyes fell on this fragile broken girl, his heart skipped

He wanted her to be his sub, but he wanted her to make the choice.

Spending time with her, reassuring her, gaining her trust. It wasn't easy. It wasn't fun, and this poor girl didn't know what to think of anything. Making her own decisions was taken away from her, displeasing her Master was something that terrified her. Her needs were simple, but her opinion was Gold.

Loved this book - the ending kind of stopped fast, but thanks to Netgalley I can jump right back into it :)



Juls Review 

At first i was really turned off by the fact that the lead female was 18. i like my couple to be age appropriate 25-40 ish range. but the more i read the more i enjoyed it. It was so much more than about sex, which there isnt any but more about healing and love and acceptance. 

very pleasantly surprised for sure. 
the ending was very abrupt and finding out that theres a book 2 made me understand the ending or lack there of a bit better.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec

Seduction and Snacks (Chocolate Lovers #1)Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec
My rating: 5 of 5 stars







Claire is a twenty-something, single mom that grudgingly helps her best friend sell sex toys while she attempts to make enough money to start her own business to give her foul-mouthed, but extremely loveable (when he’s asleep) toddler a better life.

When Carter, the one-night-stand from her past that changed her life forever, shows up in her hometown bar without any recollection of her besides her unique chocolate scent, Claire will make it a point that he remembers her this time.

With Carter’s undisguised shock at suddenly finding out he has a four-year-old son and Claire’s panic that her stretch marks and slim to none bedroom experience will send the man of her dreams heading for the hills, the pair will do whatever they can to get their happily ever after.

Warning: includes explicit sex, profanity and enough sarcasm to choke a horse.






Juls Review

************WARNING**********
DO NOT DRINK OR EAT WHILE READING THIS BOOK :D

With that said, if you are looking for a laugh out loud, full belly, cramping from laughter, make the person next to you look at you funny cuz you are snorting, this book is for you! and yes its that funny. I’m not even kidding! I made the mistake of reading this book while on the treadmill and I cant tell you how many times I almost fell off from laughing! So beware!!!!

On top of this being the funniest book I’ve ever read it also has a cute love story behind it. Claire always the focused go getter left her virginity on the back burner until a party her BFF Liz dragged her to. While there Claire meets a guy, lets just call him Mr. one night stand for now. They talk and drink all night and before you know it they are fumbling to get each others clothes off. In their drunken stupor there was no barrier between them and weeks later and no sign of aunt flow she takes the dreaded test. The first test wasn’t good enough so many more tests later she FINALLY comes to the conclusion that she is pregnant. She and Liz search all over campus to find this mysterious guy but there is no trace of him.

5 years later…..Claire has a 4 year old son named Gavin and working as a barmaid. Not her ideal job but it gets the bills paid.

Liz stayed in college got her degree in business and is now home in Butler to be close to Claire and to start up her novelty store. Unbeknownst to Claire Liz has bought a building to accommodate both her business and a chance for Claire to utilize her baking skills.
Cue Seduction and Snacks. That’s the name they come up with for their joining stores.

Before Liz opens her store she wants to get her merchandise out there so she throws a few parties. Liz wants Claire to be her part time sales rep at said parties. To Claire’s horror Liz whips out a dildo from her case to show the ladies of Butler what they have been missing out on. Claire knows this is a bad idea. she never used a toy let alone had an orgasm and knowing what her friend is selling, thinks she is not cut out for this job.

After one of the parties Claire goes into work at the bar only to find Mr. one night stand. He’s even more gorgeous than she remembered. He on the other hand doesn’t remember her. He only remembers her smell, a smell he’s been searching for for over 5 years! But at that moment he’s too drunk to even put two and two together.

Carter who happened to crash a frat party met an amazing girl and had the best night of his life with her. But in the morning, she was gone. No name no nothing!! He and his buddy Drew go back home but this mysterious girls smell stays with him. Everywhere he went he had to check to see if he could find that smell of chocolate that lingered on her skin. He never found it until the day he and Drew got transferred to the Butler. He was trying to drown his sorrows when the smell he’d been longing for hit him like a ton of bricks. The barmaid couldn’t be “her”, could it?

Luck was on Carters side. Jim, Liz’s fianc├ęs, works in the same plant as Carter and after hearing his story about this lost girl he’d been in search of has Jim inviting the guys over for dinner. Claire was to join that same dinner. She always seems to show her embarrassing side wherever she goes and she doesn’t disappoint. She barges into Liz’s house to announce that the latest party was a bust and that she’s spilled her guts about never having an orgasm.

This is the trend throughout the whole book. I don’t want to give away anymore, you just have to read this. And honestly I was sad to have the book come to an end. Every character was fun to read about even Drew. He was kind of a douche but his t-shirt are one of a kind! Put everything else down and get this book.

You wont be disappointed!



View all my reviews

Monday, August 27, 2012

Collison by Stefne Miller

CollisionCollision by Stefne Miller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars







 Seven minutes inside a hotel room with a complete stranger. A friendly greeting where we pretend to know each other well and are genuinely happy to see each other; then straight to business. None of it meaningful. None of it real. All of it rehearsed, choreographed, and expected.

My life isn’t my own anymore. I pretty much go wherever I’m told and put on the show. It’s my life and whether I chose it or not, it’s the life I’ve got. It’s the world I live in.

And, I’m searching. Always searching… I just don’t know what for.
---

Cab Stone has it all—fame, fortune and the adoration of millions of women across the globe. When the constant attention from fans and expectations from his handlers becomes too much, he escapes the craziness of press junkets and movie sets and escapes to Asheville, North Carolina to hide away for the summer.

He expects peace, quiet, and solitude. What he doesn’t expect is to meet a fiery redhead who changes everything he knows about the world.

The daughter of missionaries, Kei Sallee lives a life of service to others. She has little, expects less, and helps heal the hearts of thousands in Uganda, where she grew up. When she finds herself staying in the same guesthouse as Cab Stone, she vows to ignore his Greek god good looks and spend the summer as she had planned—in peace, quiet, and solitude.

Cab and Kei’s lives couldn’t be more different…or more the same.

Despite, or perhaps because of, their vastly different yet startlingly similar backgrounds, Cab and Kei strike up an unlikely friendship that could possibly blossom into something more. But Kei fears that the truth about her past will prevent pretty-boy Cab, who is used to getting everything he wants, from fully committing to her.

When two completely different worlds experience a Collision, can they exist as one?




Juls Review
Young Adult

What an uplifting story. This book had a feeling of the movie a walk to remember. If you seen this movie then you'll know how this one will turn out.

Cabot and Kei made one of the most sweetest couples I've ever read about. Cabot was an actor whose life wasn't his own and Kei lived hers serving others in need.
Their time away from others to find peace fated their destiny and the time they had together taught both of them about hope and love. It was a bumpy road getting there but eventually their lives had meaning.

Very emotional and very inspirational. Really a great read.

View all my reviews

Sunday, August 26, 2012

The Future of Our Past by Kahlen Aymes

The Future of Our Past (The Remembrance Trilogy, #1)The Future of Our Past by Kahlen Aymes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars






Julia Abbot and Ryan Matthews had been inseparable best friends since the moment they met. Each of them fight an internal battle, unwilling to risk their incredible friendship, but unable to quell their deep longing for the other. On the verge of Ryan’s departure to Harvard Medical School and Julia’s for a new job on the opposite coast, they are forced to face the undeniable truth of their deeper feelings and find themselves enthralled in a passion like neither has ever known.

The lovers are faced with forced separation, great distances and other people who try to sabotage their relationship as both of them work to build the shared future they both dream of. When their lives begin to finally gel, Julia is offered an opportunity that will jettison her career to new heights. In light the sacrifices she has made for him, Ryan can hardly deny her, but then something happens to completely change the course of their future. Will Julia choose the chance of a lifetime or the love of her life?

This is a story filled with the powerful and passionate connection we all dream of...a love so transcending, that even if the mind can't remember, it's impossible for the heart to forget.




Juls Review

First off LOVE the names of the main characters and that bracelet, where do i find one of those??? ;)

I'm not a romance hater, I love the idea of love. Makes me feel all mushy and softy inside. But even though Ryan and Julia had so much distance between them we only saw the coupling after all the wait. Had there been more about how they were coping and maybe thrown in more people like Liza and Vincent to make them sway from the relationship a lil I think I would have totally been on board with all the love talk. I think i understood how much they loved each other from page one but it just kept going, like the energizer bunny, the bunny can bee annoying!

Surprisingly enough I knew how this one was gonna end. I'm not talking about the cliffhanger, which really wasnt much of one, blame that one the fact that I know theres a book 2. I kinda figured it out when Julia started taking antibiotics, you put 2 and 2 together and that makes 3, makes sense, dont you think? LOL

I hope Ryan and Julia find their HEA and I hope Julia does go to Paris. She deserves this more than anyone. She's sacrificed so much, moving to the east coast and having to look for a new job. Luckily she didnt have to do a whole lot about that but still she was willing to do what it took for them to be together. Now granted Ryan is on the verge of graduating, he needs to let Julia spread her wings and enjoy the promotion that literally fell onto her lap.

I may one day pick up book 2 but not any time soon. :(

Dont get me wrong, i'd recommend this, just be in the mood for lots of LOVE. LOTS of love talk and some sex! ohhh and speaking of sex, the scene where Ryan surprises Julia and she thinks she's dreaming, WOWZA!!!!

View all my reviews

Saturday, August 25, 2012

The Siren by Tiffany Reisz

The Siren (The Original Sinners, #1)The Siren by Tiffany Reisz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars








Notorious Nora Sutherlin is famous for her delicious works of erotica, each one more popular with readers than the last. But her latest manuscript is different—more serious, more personal—and she's sure it'll be her breakout book...if it ever sees the light of day.

Zachary Easton holds Nora's fate in his well-manicured hands. The demanding British editor agrees to handle the book on one condition: he wants complete control. Nora must rewrite the entire novel to his exacting standards—in six weeks—or it's no deal.

Nora's grueling writing sessions with Zach are draining…and shockingly arousing. And a dangerous former lover has her wondering which is more torturous—staying away from him...or returning to his bed?

Nora thought she knew everything about being pushed to your limits. But in a world where passion is pain, nothing is ever that simple.


"Tiffany Reisz is a smart, artful, and masterful new voice in erotic fiction! An erotica star on the rise!"
Award-winning author Lacey Alexander

“Tiffany Reisz's The Original Sinners series is painful, prideful, brilliant, beautiful, hopeful, and heart-breaking. And that's just the first hundred pages.”
Courtney Milan, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Duchess War

“A beautiful, lyrical story... The Siren is about love lost and found, the choices that make us who we are...and above all, finding our way home. I can only hope that Ms. Reisz pens a sequel!"
Bestselling author Jo Davis

"Dazzling, devastating and sinfully erotic, Reisz writes unforgettable characters you'll either want to know or want to be. The Siren is an alluring book-within-a-book, a story that will leave you breathless and bruised, aching for another chapter with Nora Sutherlin and her men."
Miranda Baker, author of Bottoms Up and Soloplay

The Original Sinners series certainly lives up to its name: it's mindbendingly original and crammed with more sin than you can shake a hot poker at. I haven't read a book this dangerous and subversive since Chuck Palahniuk's Fight Club. The most shocking thing, however, is how much you'll feel for the characters. If your heart doesn't break at least ten times over the course of The Siren, check yourself into a morgue."
Andrew Shaffer, author, Great Philosophers Who Failed at Love




Juls Review

this book was confusing yet made perfect sense, like clear as mud ;P
It all revolves around Nora who is an author by day and a Dominatrix by night.

I loved Nora's character. She is witty and smart and can stand with the best of them. Her breakup with Soren takes her back into the world she is familiar with but is now in the leading role.
Zach is a stuck up and staid editor who has a moment of weakness but soon finds his path has been opened up to be happy with his wife.
Wesley oh sweet Wesley. What can I say about him except he is such a sweet boy. His perception of love is a bit skewed while living with the infamous writer/dom. The affection they feel affection for each other is a bit unorthodox but they somehow make it work.
Soren what is up with him??????? I want to know but am afraid to :/

Looking forward to the rest of the books in the Original Sinners series.

Great read and highly recommend!



View all my reviews

Friday, August 24, 2012

Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley

Sweet as SinSweet as Sin by Inez Kelley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Contemporary Romance


Great book!
I loved this :)



John Murphy is tormented by nightmares. A bestselling young-adult author, he writes the ultimate fantasy: stories where good always triumphs. He knows better. His past has shown him the worst in people—and in himself. When he moves next door to the sexy, vibrant Livvy—a woman completely unlike his usual one-night stands—he's driven to explore every curve of her delicious body.
Pastry chef Livvy knows that giving in to the temptation that is John Murphy won't lead to anything permanent, but she deserves a passionate summer fling. John discovers she's as sweet as the confections she bakes while Livvy slowly unravels his secrets. But what will happen when she uncovers them all?
104,200 words

Be sure to read the FREE follow-up visit with John and Livvy found on Inez Kelley's website!




John just moved into a new home. He's an Author of a very popular Young Adult fantasy series, but the monsters in the book aren't the only monsters John has. His past continues to haunt him every day, and he has to deal with the struggles his step father pounded into him daily when he was younger.

Olivia (aka Livy) lives with her sister Andrea. Andrea is getting married to Tow, so Livy tried to make things easier on her sister by giving her free room and board to help save money.
She would never let her sister know just how tight money is at work. Livy owns the "Sweet Shop". A bakery that she puts a lot of hard work into. Sure she has her regular customers, and works a few birthday parties and weddings, but she is far from financially happy.

When John sitting in his back yard, a bra blows over to him. He snags it up and wonders where it's from. Peeking at the neighbors yard, he likes the rest of the clothes he found on the line.
Shoving them in his pocked he heads next door to introduce himself.

And when he meets the new neighbors, the spark between him and Livy is really thick. They can't keep their eyes off each other. But Livy is stronger. She can sense that John isn't the long term relationship type of guy, and Livy is only looking for love, not fun.

That night is the neighborhood 4th of July potluck held at Livy's house. John is invited to meet the neighbors and have fun. Livy does her best to ignore him. but soon realizes that the more she ignores him, the sooner he's going to have his way with her. It was impossible to ignore the pull.

And John wasn't any exception. He was a total flirt, and wanted to see where things went with Livy. Rather it was a day, a week, a month. But he knew getting too close would be a bad thing.
When he cornered her in the kitchen and had his way with her mouth, she couldn't help but fantasize what it would be like to spend a day, a week, a month with him..
But was she willing to risk her heart.

Getting to know these two was a lot of fun. The ghosts in John's past were spooky though. He had a lot to deal with, STILL has a lot to deal with. But his sister Gina was able to move on with her life, so John should be able to move on with his.. right?

The passion between these two, and the Sweets from the Shop! YOUCH! Sweet as Sin!


Thursday, August 23, 2012

Insufferable Proximity by Z. Stefani

Insufferable ProximityInsufferable Proximity by Z. Stefani
My rating: 3 of 5 stars





Some one is hell-bent on sabotaging Julian King.

Julian is a hot-shot lawyer and a natural born womanizer with an unnatural addiction to the opposite sex. He also happens to be the boss's son, which makes him a natural target.
With a Rolodex filled with scorned women, a brother who loathes him and the competitors he defeated on his way to the top; there were plenty of people that would love to see him burn.

But his money was on the person he despised most, his enemy Heaven Deville. 

Heaven is an aggressive, ambitious, destructively-driven lawyer who HATES Julian King. 
The two stubborn lawyers were currently locked in a brutal battle for the coveted partnership position at the firm; and Heaven would do ANYTHING to prevent her arch rival from winning.

When Heaven goes too far Julian gives her two options- either he turns her in OR she has to willingly sign herself over to him for the next 30 days. 

WARNING- CONTAINS STRONG SEXUAL CONTENT! Check a sample at my website- zstefani.com




                              


Juls' Review


3.3 stars
Let me explain the way I’m rating this book. The 3 stars is for the originality and overall of the book and the .3 stars is for the 30 days of the contract between Heaven and Julian.

First off, if you look at my updates on Goodreads I was right about who done it. Its always the quiet ones you have to watch out for. That person wants to ruin Julian so much they secretly tape and photograph him in some compromising positions and send the evidence to Julian’s father and boss, Ayden.

Julian, the manwhore, has pretty much fucked every available woman in a 100 mile radius. He’s the love em and leave em type. But he has women falling at him feet to get his attention. I think these stupid women see him as a challenge and want to win his heart. NOT.GONNA.HAPPEN!
Julian isn’t particular, he’ll fuck just about any willing woman including co-workers. Some have had his “love” and some want it so bad they’ll do anything to get it.

Cue the secretaries.
Juliette-crazy bitch who tries to buy Julian’s love with cookies and sweets. Very catty and very immature.
Reece and Adele-fawns Julian from afar. Know they have no chance and leave it at just staring and admiring him.
Gloria-I thought she was out to get more when she ran into Heaven and Julian at a party but she actually turned out to be okay.

Julian works with his father’s firm as one of the top dog lawyers. He’s not the only one though. Heaven is just as aggressive and just as good as Julian. Their hate for each is brought out with every case that comes in and now the new position to become a partner. They both want it but only one will get it.

Ian, Julian’s brother, gives Heaven a heads up about Julian’s proposal and before you know it, Heave is doing something that she would never have done had she not been so determined to win. She steals Julian’s proposal and erases any trace of it from his computer. Little does she know that he had a security cam in his office and witness her act.

With this amo Julian now has the power. The power to bring Heaven down a peg or 2. He’s written up a contract/blackmailing to make Heaven bend to his every demand. In fear of losing her job she signs it. That’s when the fun starts and when the book got the extra star points.
Their hate for each other is unnatural but it has generated a spark that lay dormant by their hatred.

Honestly I’m not sure how I felt about the sex scenes in this book. Is it consensual if you sign off on it? Kinda like when you sign you marriage license, are you allowing your husband to have his way with you just cuz you bare his name? I don’t think so. It felt like non con rape. But she enjoyed it so is that considered rape? That whole portion of them having sex felt weird and it didn’t settle well with me.

Heaven, what can I say about her except I didn’t like her one bit. In fact I hated her. Not cuz she got the man in the end but she acted like a spineless twit that thinks she’s so strong but will crumble when a man flicks her nipples. And every time she stomped her foot, which was way too many times for a 26 year old woman, I thought of a 2 year old throwing a tantrum. Through the whole book she didn’t change and even after finishing the book I still don’t like her.
She couldn’t even stand by her beliefs after all she’d witnessed as a child. Being brought up in a brothel you’d think she wouldn’t want to pay for sex but ultimately she did. She wanted her job so bad she sold her body to Julian to keep her position as a well known lawyer.

This story was very predictable. Not that Z. Stefani didn’t try to lure you to think others were plotting to take revenge on Julian cuz trust me, there were plenty of people ready to take Julian down. there’s some twists and turns to keep you entertained.

Note: Z. Stefani is self published so for those who hate misspellings and grammatical errors, this may not be for you.