Thursday, January 31, 2013

Flappers, Flasks, and Foul Play by Ellen Mansoor Collier

NEW ADULT Jazz Age Mystery
Title: Flappers, Flasks, and Foul Play
Author: Ellen Mansoor Collier

Flappers Flasks and Foul Play

Date Published: July 2012 

Synopsis: "Boardwalk Empire" meets "The Great Gatsby" in this soft-boiled historical mystery, inspired by actual events. Rival gangs fight over booze and bars during Prohibition in 1920s Galveston: the "Sin City of the Southwest." Jazz Cross, a 21-year-old society reporter, feels caught between two clashing cultures: the seedy speakeasy underworld and the snooty social circles she covers in the Galveston Gazette. 
During a night out with her best friend, Jazz witnesses a bar fight at the Oasis--a speakeasy secretly owned by her black-sheep half-brother, Sammy Cook. But when a big-shot banker with a hidden past collapses there and later dies, she suspects foul play. Was it an accident or a mob hit?
Soon handsome young Prohibition Agent James Burton raids the Oasis, threatening to shut it down if Sammy doesn't talk. Suspicious, he pursues Jazz but, despite her mixed feelings, she refuses to rat on Sammy. As turf wars escalate between two real-life Galveston gangs, Sammy is accused of murder. Jazz must risk her life and career to find the killer, exposing the dark side of Galveston's glittering society.


Why in the world was Fed Agent Burton here? Everyone stopped working to watch him make his grand entrance. People don't usually parade around in a newsroom: They sort of shuffle or stumble or stomp—unless a story's really hot, then they'll run. I felt like running away too, but I stayed glued to my chair, pretending to work, my heart racing.

Burton seemed to enjoy the attention as he headed my way. He was hard to ignore: Standing before me, all six feet-plus of golden skin and hair, he towered over my desk. Looking up, I noticed the curious eyes watching us in the too-quiet newsroom. The reporters stopped typing, fingers poised over keys, hoping for a scoop. My boss stared with unabashed interest.

"To what do I owe this disturbance?" I adjusted my cloche cap, acting nonchalant.

He grinned at me, then looked around the suddenly still office. "I need to ask you a few questions. Can we go somewhere private?"

"What do you want?" I put on a brave face so the newsboys wouldn't see me sweat.

Burton scanned the hushed room. "You really want to discuss it here, out in public?"

He had a point. Did I want the whole staff listening in on my private conversation? He probably wanted to discuss Sammy, who was no one else's business.

"Let's go outside," I agreed. Head down, I followed him past a leering Hank, feeling like a naughty kid going to the principal's office.

Nathan entered the newsroom, a camera slung over his shoulder, stopping to stare at Burton. "Jazz, is everything jake?"

"Everything's berries." I smiled to pacify him but, I admit, I had the jitters.

"I remember him. Your boyfriend?" Burton seemed amused.

"He's the staff photographer." I ignored his crack. "And a good friend."

Outside, I felt safe among the throng of people and automobiles passing by in a rush. The hustle and bustle of the streets and sidewalks seemed almost comforting. I looked around for Golliwog, our resident stray cat, but she must have been making her daily rounds for scraps.

"How was lunch?" In broad daylight, Burton didn't seem quite as menacing or intimidating. Besides, a group of hard-boiled reporters peered out the newsroom, spying on us.

"Fine." I covered my growling stomach. "What brings you here?"

"Sorry to barge in that way." He smiled, tugging on his hat. "But I had to get your attention. You wouldn't give me the time of day the other night."

"Can you blame me? A raid isn't exactly the best way to meet new people."

"I think we got off on the wrong foot." He stuck his hands in his pockets, jingling some change. "Perhaps we can talk over dinner, instead of standing out here on the sidewalk?"

"Dinner?" Was he serious? "Just like that?" I snapped my fingers. "You waltz in as if you owned the place—like you did at the Oasis—and expect me to dine out with you, a total stranger, because of your badge? You've got a lot of nerve, mister."

"I wouldn't be a Prohibition agent if I didn't." He looked smug. "How about tonight?"

Author Bio

Ellen Mansoor Collier

Ellen Mansoor Collier is a Houston-based freelance magazine writer whose articles and essays have been published in several national magazines including: FAMILY CIRCLE, MODERN BRIDE, GLAMOUR, BIOGRAPHY, COSMOPOLITAN, COUNTRY ACCENTS, PLAYGIRL, etc. Several of her short stories (both mystery and romance) have appeared in WOMAN'S WORLD.
A flapper at heart, she’s the owner of DECODAME, specializing in Deco to retro vintage items ( Formerly she's worked as a magazine editor/writer, and in advertising sales and public relations. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in Magazine Journalism. During college, she once worked as a cocktail waitress, a short-lived experience since she was clueless about cocktails. Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play is her first novel, inspired by real people and places. Currently, she’s working on the sequel.
"When you grow up in Houston, Galveston becomes like a second home. I had no idea this sleepy beach town had such a wild and colorful past until I began doing research, and became fascinated by the legends and stories of the 1920s. I love the glamour and excitement of The Jazz Age, but Prohibition was also such a dark and dangerous time in American history. Jazz isn’t a debutante or socialite, she’s a reporter caught in between the two halves of Galveston society, struggling to do the right thing despite all the temptations and decadence of the era."

“Boardwalk Empire" meets "The Great Gatsby" in this soft-boiled historical mystery, set during Prohibition in 1920s Galveston: the "Sin City of the Southwest."
Links to Buy

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

The Exception to the Rule by Beth Rinyu

The Exception to the Rule

Beth Rinyu - The Exception to the Rule 


When Katrina “Kat” Vallia, an idealistic if somewhat naive 20-something American pediatrician travels halfway across the globe to volunteer in a poor African village, she looks at it as a means of closure. Following a bitter breakup with her unfaithful boyfriend, she decides to throw herself into her work without any distractions from a man. That’s until she encounters Dr. Julian Kiron, a handsome, career driven pediatric oncologist. Even though she tries to fight it, Kat finds herself falling deeply for him; until she painfully realizes that they both want totally different things from life. Not willing to compromise for the other, they sadly say goodbye, cutting all ties.

Five years later, Kat’s happy world is turned upside down when she is given devastating news. She must now confront her past and the secret she’s harbored for years. But will saving the one she loves most also rekindle the love she let slip away?


We talked for some time and I could tell he was getting tired, his skin looked paler than usual and the light color of his eyes just enhanced the dark circles that were beginning to form underneath.
“Are you tired?” I asked.
“A little,” he finally admitted.
“But I thought you didn’t get tired,” I teased as I got up to grab the blanket from the other couch, turning off the overhead light. I looked out the window to see a light snow falling. I sat back down on the couch covering us both with the blanket as we watched TV with just the glow of the fireplace and Christmas tree lights. He had his arms wrapped tightly around me as I rested my head on his chest. 
“Thank you,” I whispered.
“For what?” he asked.
“For being here.”
 I smiled when he pulled me closer and gently kissed my head. It didn’t take long before I heard his breathing begin to change and as I looked up I saw he was sound asleep. I put my head back down on his chest, kissing it softly. Just knowing he was here beside me, listening to his heartbeat and feeling him breathe, put my mind at such ease that it wasn’t long before I was fast asleep too.

Creating Your Book Cover
By Rosalind James

Author Bio
Ever since I can remember, I have always enjoyed Creative Writing. There was always something about being able to travel to a different place or become a different person with just the stroke of a pen - or in today's world a touch of the keyboard. I have been writing poetry for years and finally got the inspiration to write my very first novel about a year and a half ago. Once I started the idea's kept flowing, my fingers kept typing - and here it is! It's a beautiful love story that focuses on so many different relationships: the love of a man and a woman, a parent and a child, friendships and those that are not bound to us by blood but by love. So, I'm hoping all of you get as much enjoyment reading this as I did writing it! Oh and here's a little bit about bit me - my life is not as interesting as the story or the characters in it, but then again whose life is? I was born and have lived in New Jersey my whole life. I'm a mom of twin teenage boys, a teenage step-son, a crazy Border Collie and a cat with an identity crisis! I guess you can say writing is my form of Calgon! I am married to a wonderful guy - but we'll keep that between us, I don't want him getting a big head! Thanks for taking the time to learn about my book and me! If you decide to read it (and I hope you do!) please be sure to go on and review it for me - yes, even if you don't like it!

Amazon Buy Link

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Safeword Quinacridone by Candace Blevins

Safeword Quinacridone

What happens when an introverted artist who only likes sex when it's a one-night stand meets a computer-geek-extraordinaire with his own sexy secrets? Objectification, romance, pain, adoration, lots of kinky toys, and oodles and oodles of wonderfully imaginative sex.

Join Cara and Travis on their journey to mesh their distinctive sexual tastes into a loving relationship with blow-your-mind kink.

  1. Treating a person as an object for use, with no regard for a person’s personality or sentience.
  2. Regarding someone as a commodity; considering them merely an instrument towards one’s sexual pleasure.


  1. A woman is on her back at the edge of a tall bed with hands and feet bound together and restrained above her head. A curtain drapes from a canopy above and puddles on the backs of her thighs. The man about to penetrate her sees only female genitals available for use.
  2. A woman is dressed in a full latex blow-up doll costume with durable latex ‘pockets’ stuffed into her orifices. She is bound into a position giving easy access to all three holes at a party. Her face is completely covered excepting nose and mouth. The men do not know who is in the costume.

Safeword: Quinacridone is a stand-alone book. You do not need to have read the previous books in this series.

Warning: This title contains graphic language, consensual BDSM, extreme objectification, bondage, watersports (one scene), chemical play, fisting, temporary body modification with saline injections (one scene), and the use of toys including clamps, canes, plugs, paddles, whips, floggers, and zip-ties.


He was quiet a moment as he yielded into traffic on a major road, and Cara caught her breath as they dove into a tunnel and she realized they were under the bay.

Travis continued. “I’ve arranged for you to be the candelabra during dinner. You’ll be positioned on the dining room table with wax poured on you and candles stuck into the wax, and you’ll lie there silently as the table’s set. We’ll light the candles as dinner begins and you’ll remain perfectly still while we eat — an exquisite work of art for us to enjoy. You’ll wear a mesh hood to block your vision and hold your mouth closed during this portion. I have latex hoods for later, but the mesh will help you stay cool with the candles burning on and around you.”

Cara’s heart did several flip-flops in sync with the lights coming one after the other as they drove through the tunnel. She closed her eyes and took a breath, trying to get her bearings as she said, “My sketches. You got that from my sketches.”

Her eyes opened in time to see him nod. “I did. Does it turn you on, or are you upset?”

“Oh, I’m incredibly turned on, but I’m also touched you’ve gone out of your way to make my fantasy come true. I mean, a room full of strangers who don’t know me and can’t even see my face? It’s better than I imagined.”

About the Author

 Candace Blevins

 Candace Blevins is a southern girl who loves to travel the world.

She lives with her husband of 15 years and their two daughters. When not working or driving kids all over the place she can be found reading, writing, meditating, or swimming.

Candace writes romance books about characters who happen to have some extreme kinks. Relationships can be difficult enough without throwing power exchange into the mix, and her books show characters who care enough about each other to fight to make the relationship work.

Each book in the Safeword series highlights a couple with a different BDSM issue to resolve. All books are standalone books and can be read in any order, with the exception of the two Davenport books, since Safewords: Davenport and Chiffon is a sequel to Safeword: Davenport.

You can visit Candace on the web at and

* Real Romance * Real BDSM *
Contact Links:

Purchase Links

Jen's Review : 

To each their own.. right :D
Ok I knew before reading this book I was going in deeper then I normally like with my BDSM books –

And yet I chose to read it anyways. Going far and beyond my comfort zone with this book, I can’t say I hated it. But I can't say I loved it either. 

Usually there is some play in BDSM books that get me excited. And this one did have a couple that I did enjoy.  I was really curious about the whole thing.

Cara is struggling artist, but she’s good at what she does. She doesn't have relationships with guys, because of her strange kink.. She likes it rough.

Travis, lol such a big change in him from the shy computer geek to the over the top controlling Sadistic Dom that he is.

When Travis see’s Cara’s art on her computer, he can’t help but be pulled to her a little. 

Taking Cara out to dinner wasn't an easy invitation for her to except. But she did, and when she took him home for a quickie, She realized there was more to the multimillion- dollar computer geek who took away her control and made her enjoy sex even without hurting her.

The next time they saw each other, Cara finds out why.
Travis has had money since he was 15 years old. He used his money to teach him the way to properly hurt someone without doing harm.
And Cara needed that pain.

So once these two figured out what they both needed, things started getting creative. I have to say I was shocked, but not appalled by what they were doing. I've enjoyed BDSM books before and this was no different. I can get inside the characters head and see HOW they are enjoying themselves.

But the “Water Sports” towards the end really had me… I could handle the objectifying things – that was pretty interesting actually, and even though I don’t fully understand why a woman would want to do that to herself, it doesn't have to make sense to me. I can see it made sense to her. But that one scene in the garage..It didn't kill the story, it worked in there, and it was dragged out so it was done in a ... tasteful way (no pun intended) but it was just alittle hardcore for me to focus on it like I should have.

Other than that. The story was pretty good. I enjoyed getting inside this couple’s heads and learning more about the things I will never be brave enough to try.

Saturday, January 26, 2013

The Stranger by Kyra Davis

The Stranger (Just One Night, Part 1)The Stranger by Kyra Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kasie knows who she’s supposed to be. But one passionate night with a mysterious stranger will teach her who she wants to be.

You should sleep with a stranger, her best friend whispers in her ear as they take to Vegas for one last pre-wedding fling. Despite her best intentions, when Kasie Fitzgerald enters the casino and sees him, a man whose tailored clothes belied a powerful, even dangerous, presence, she loses herself to the moment. Maybe it’s the dress, much shorter than she’d ever normally wear, or the Scotch, but something makes her give herself over to him more completely than she's ever done with a man before.

It was supposed to be just one night. But right as she’s thinking she wants more, he shows up in her office with an agenda. As the billionaire CEO of a company that’s engaged her PR firm, his demands just became her reality...and he desires so much more than just some attention in the boardroom.

Juls Review
There was one other book that had cheating in it that really didnt matter to me. Now dont get me wrong, I dont think its right. I honestly dont really like to read about it. But in this book, it almost seemed necessary. Not that anyone deserved it but its like the main character needed to do this to find herself.

Kasie lives a very staid life. Every thing about her is predictable and normal. No hair is ever out of place. A weekend away turns her life upside down. One man, a stranger, changes everything. Her life isnt black and white anymore. It screams for more.

Back to reality, Kasie now faces the one man who she thought was only going to be seem in her dreams. He waltz into her life and brings back the chaos that is still bottled up inside her. Secrets and betrayal now cloud her mind and nothing will shake her from this haze.

But like a drug, the fix only lasts so long. Will she stay with whats comfortable or will she spread her wings and lose everything? I cant wait to find out!!!

View all my reviews

Friday, January 25, 2013

Up to Me by M. Leighton

Up to Me (The Bad Boys, #2)Up to Me by M. Leighton
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Happily ever after doesn’t come easy. But for love, it’s always worth the fight.

Olivia finds bliss unlike any she’s ever known in Cash’s arms. He sets her skin on fire and melts her heart right inside her chest. Unfortunately, their happily ever after is short-lived when a shadow from Cash’s past threatens to turn their world upside down.

Dangerous people from his father’s world have discovered that Cash holds information that could put them away for a very long time. And they’re willing to do anything—and hurt anybody—to get it back. Giving it up means Cash must choose between the life of his father and the life of Olivia.

Having nearly overcome her wariness of bad boys, Olivia’s trust is shaken when this new threat arises. Now she finds that Cash is not only a danger to her heart, but his family has associations that are a danger to her life as well. She soon discovers that there are some situations in life where trust is a girl’s only option. And this is one of them. If she’s to live, she must trust Cash with her life. But to Olivia, that’s much, much easier than letting go and trusting him with her heart.

Juls Review
One thing I hate more than anything is wasting my time reading a book about a female lead that should not be in that role. Pretty much everything Olivia did in this book made her look either stupid or insecure. While insecurities add a little angst to the story the stupidity was unnecessary. I would have kinda enjoyed the story had that one situation where she gets herself in trouble not been in the plot.
There was a reason why Cash made sure Olivia was in a secure location with the one person he knew he could trust. Luckily Gavin doesnt have his head in the clouds and follows Olivia. Oh, and I want more of Gavin Please!!! What a man!!!

I also had a hard time seeing the couple I met in Down to You. Cash and Olivia almost seem like their relationship is forced and I'm not feeling their chemistry at all. My reading buddy said it best, the whole story felt like it should have been a soap opera. People coming back from the dead and Marlaina being possessed by the devil. oh wait, never mind. That was from the show Days of our lives :D

Very predictable and I'm not too thrilled about book 3. I actually hate both of those characters.

View all my reviews

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Eight Days Blue by Vina Jackson

Eighty Days Blue (Eighty Days, #2)Eighty Days Blue by Vina Jackson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 In the second book in Vina Jackson's exhilarating new romance trilogy, fiery musician Summer and wealthy academic Dominik experience the passions and pitfalls of a thrilling love affair with a difference

Juls Review
Round 2 went better. I had a hard time getting into this one. It really made me depressed the first 30% of it but after I got over that hump it got a lil better.

Summer and Dominik have a very different relationship, if you can even call it that. Its kind of a free for all. If you see someone you find attractive you can sleep with them or do whatever with them. They dont have any restrictions in what they say is a relationship so I'm not sure they have one.

As the story progresses what wasnt defined becomes clear that yes it was in fact a relationship and a delicate one at that. They are both very touchy beings and dont really share whats going on inside.
They are very closed off but slowly they try to work out their quirks.

Dominik doesnt want to be so far away from Summer so he finds a way to get to NY but that back fires because as soon as he gets there she off on tour to parts unknown. They never laid out what it was between them but was moving at the speed of a relationship.

Summer and Dominik need a fresh start and I really hope I find that in the next book.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

A Table for Three by Lainey Reese

A Table for Three  (New York, #1)

She’s taking two bites out of the Big Apple.
Riley Ramirez knew that moving to New York would change her life. She just didn’t expect it to start on her very first night in town. Her attraction to nightclub owner Kincade Marshall is instant, mind-blowing—and mutual. When she finds he is a Dom who requires her complete surrender, even when it comes to submitting to his best friend, Trevor Wellington, she finds herself willing and eager to embrace the sexual adventure.
From their earliest days, Cade and Trevor have shared everything, including women. Yet it only takes one night with Riley to know she is their forever lady. Convincing her that this is more than a temporary fling, though, will take every tool in their sensual arsenal.
As Cade and Trevor set their sights on Riley, however, they’re unaware—until it’s almost too late—that someone is targeting their fragile relationship. Someone who’s taking deadly aim at Riley. Suddenly their struggle to keep their forever woman is a fight to keep her alive…
Warning: This book contains m/f/m ménage, bdsm play, lots of steamy p.d.a, and a fine dining experience that will leave you salivating for more.

Juls Review   ***3 Stars***

The title says it all. We meet Riley, so innocent yet two men can so easily sway her to let them take over her body mind and soul. As with all fantasies, this was way hot! Lots and lots and LOTS of sex that almost seemed repetitive at times but others you get the tingly feeling in those spots that sparks fire within you.
Cade and Trevor's attention towards Riley was very demanding yet gentle. She took everything they had with vigor and still begged for more.
The trio didnt realize until almost too late that their life was within each others hands.
I was a bit surprised that there was actually more to the story than just sex. Some wants what Riley has and will do anything to get it. No one is going to take her dreams away from her.

Very quick read for a Sunday.

Jen's Review   ****4 Stars****

Cute story :)

Riley was new to New York City. A New job that starts in 2 weeks, a new apartment, now she's ready to play.

A Cab takes her to the hottest club in the state with the only warning, to be smart. Use her head and don't do anything stupid.

That's easy right?
Sitting at a table drinking a diet coke, that the waiter brought her, she watches people have fun.

Cade is livid! How could Gary let in an innocent woman into his club and just leave her there like that?
As Cade gets closer to the woman in the privacy booth, he starts to really look at her. But it's once their eyes met, he knew he was going to be taking her home... for good.

Bringing up the privacy wall, Cade talks to Riley. He lets her know that she can stop everything with one word. But Riley doesn't want to stop anything. She is here to have fun, and she's curious about how far this gorgeous guy will take things. Besides, there was something in his eyes that makes her want to trust him.

After a night of hot sweet fun, Cade makes his phone call to Trevor.
Cade and Trevor have been friends for years, and have always shared a woman. They always have, and there was no doubt they'd be doing it with her.

When Trevor see's her, he can tell right away there is something special about her.

Riley is confused at first when she wakes up to seeing Trevor, but Cade is right there, and she trusts Cade (yeah that fast)

Now it's time to lay down the way it's going to be. After less than 24 hours, Cade and Trevor let her know they're selling her apartment, she's not taking that job, and they will be buying her clothes and dressing her from now on.

Yeah, she's not going to fall for that one. They make a little deal and plan on a trial run.

The book is a little over whelming with the Hot Steamy threesome - For two straight guys, they really know what they're doing!

Fun book to read! :)

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Rule by jay Crownover

Rule (Rule #1)Rule by Jay Crownover
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had loved Rule Archer since the first moment I ever laid eyes on him. He was everything I shouldn't want and the only person I went out of my way to not try and please. He only saw me as a brat, and an entitled, stuck up princess but worse than that all he saw when he looked at me was his deceased twin's girl. It broke my heart because as much as I had loved Remy Archer there was never anything romantic between us and no matter how hard I tried to convince myself that loving Rule was a terrible idea, my poor heart just wouldn't listen. We tolerated each other, barely and had forged an uneasy alliance until one night I had too much to drink and changed the way we were forever. Suddenly life long secrets were no longer hidden and the one thing I always wanted for myself seemed obtainable as long as I was willing to go through hell to hold onto it.

Shaw Landon was a class act and I had no idea what to do with her. She was tied to my family, tied to the person that was my other half so I tolerated her and her haughty attitude when I didn't have any other choice. What I didn't know was that a short skirt and too many cocktails on her birthday was going to change my outlook on her for the rest of my life. Some people thought I hid behind all my tattoos and piercings, that I tried to distance myself from my dead twin, Shaw saw through it all and wasn't scared of what was underneath. We weren't supposed to be together, weren't supposed to be anything but uncomfortable acquaintances but that all changed in the blink of an eye. Now I had to figure out just how a girl like her and a guy like me were supposed to be in love without destroying each other. Add in her custom made ex and two disapproving sets of parents and the whole situation sounded like it was more trouble then it was worth.

Recommended for mature readers due to sexual content, language and drinking.

Juls Review

What do you get when you take one extreme, tats and piercings kinda guy and a sweet cardigan wearing kinda girl?

A love like no other.

Shaw has been in love with Rule since she was 13 and now at the age of 20 she's wants to give him everything. Her body mind and soul. But Rule has reservations. Shaw is/was his twin brother's girl. Or so he thought. Shaw's birthday brings the two together and it changes Rule's outlook on everything.

At first when Rule finally saw Shaw as a woman and not the innocent girl that he'd first met when she was younger I didnt think there was much there. And even when they were together it kinda seemed awkward. Shaw had to wear something completely non cardigan for him to see her as a woman. I think his lust for her would have seemed a bit more real if he had a bit of interest in her even before then.

But with that said and moving forward their love and respect grow for each other until a secret about his brother is revealed and Rule thinks his other half, he may have never really known him.

Shaw comes with baggage and the only thing she ever really wanted was to be loved and when Rule spurns her for the last time she puts all her guards down. Feeling defeated she forgets that she needs to keep her eyes open and before she knows it she ends up in the hospital.

I really enjoyed this book until I got to the epilogue. I really like Shaw. She was a strong female lead but what made me not like her so much at the end was her marking herself. Rule constantly mentioned her flawless skin and yet at the end she's got tats all over her. I know the author was trying to make it seem like Shaw wanted them but what I got from it was she was doing for Rule. She didnt need to do anything to change her. She had an epiphany towards the end, she should have stuck by that and been herself.

Jen's Review

 I really like these kinds of stories.

The bad boy and the good girl.

Rule was a bad boy with a capital T - The drinking the woman, he was everywhere. And he loved that it was so easy for him to get.

When Shaw picked up Rule every week for a trip to his parents’ house, she had to see things that hurt her beyond anything. Rule never knew how she felt about him. And she wasn't going to tell him. She knew he wouldn't change for her. She was a good girl. did what her parents told her, even if it wasn't what she wanted.

That is until Gabe came around. That's when Shaw said enough was enough. Even going against her parents, she just couldn't deal with her ex stalking her.

During Shaw's 20th birthday party, her BFF gets her a fake ID and they hit the clubs. HARD!
When she's pretty sloshed, Rule strides up and takes her back to his place. He knows she's drunk but he's finally starting to see her as a woman instead of the little girl he knew when they were kids.
But as persistent and drunk as Shaw is, she's NOT going to let Rule tell her no! At least not tonight.

When Rule wakes up, he realizes what happened and when he finds Shaw gone, he doesn't know how to handle things.
She's ruined him for other girls!

Rule doesn't know how to love. His family has never treated him as the good brother, and he's always rebelled against his parents, letting them know he could do whatever he wanted. So when things with Shaw started to get a little hard and he had to work at their relationship, Rule got spooked. He wasn't use to working for things.. especially women.

This was really a cute book to read. I enjoyed it :)

Nice Girl by Kate Baum

Nice Girl (Girl Series)

Graduate student Grace Locke moves from the Midwest to New York City to complete her Masters degree in Criminology. She longs to one day be a college professor. It is a field that is dominated by men. She is worried about succeeding in such an atmosphere. Past sexual relationships have caused her to feel intimidated. Her experiences with college men have left her jaded and unsatisfied. She gives herself a challenge. Time to toughen up or she won’t make it in a career she yearns for. She decides to surround herself with alpha males so that she can practice becoming what she sees as a strong confident woman. She finds power and defiance in her new attitude……..until Vinnie. 

When Grace takes a part time secretarial job at a private investigator office, she assumes it will be interesting to watch how the cases unfold. It is close to her campus apartment and gives her the extra cash she needs as a struggling college student. Even more perfect is that the office is surrounded by street wise hardened males. Now, she can get the needed practice at increasing her confidence among men. She wasn’t prepared for Vinnie Lewis. A former hit man who decides to go straight, he is the ultimate “bad boy”. After growing up with a prostitute mother on the streets of New York City, he has no patience for nice girls like Grace. He is difficult to work with. She finds him just plain scary with his six foot four frame, bulging biceps, and a scar from a former knife fight that goes across his right ear to his chin. She shakes in his presence but then ……. is shocked when she can’t stop thinking of him.

*****Warning. Contains graphic sex scenes. For adults only****

en's Review 


I LOVE those big strong alpha male , teddy bear of a guy stories!

And Vinnie, wow - can't get any bigger or stronger than him :D

Vinnie has had a troubled past - his own mother ruined him for having any chance at love or happiness. In fact, he despised women so much, he wouldn't even let their whole bodies get close to him, just their mouth.

Grace's world is going crazy. She has 3 BFFs' and they all look after each other. The only problem is they're real lives are going in separate directions.

On their last night together as a whole group, they realize after reading a passage in Eve's mother's romance book, none of them have ever experienced an orgasm. So they decided that's what's missing in their lives.

So Dee makes a pack. by the end of the year, they'll all have their first "O" with a guy who is older and wiser.

Grace and Eve are a little shy about this. Sure they want to get the full experience, but is finding some random guy going to do it for them??
At the airport, when Eve is leaving, They both decided to swear off sex.

Grace heads to New York City to start her Graduate School. Upon her first day in the big city, she finds her dream job. Well not really a dream job.

Standing outside a Private Investigators building staring at a "Secretary for hire" sign - She didn't want to be a secretary. But all the other jobs in her criminal minds fields were taken.

That's when Jamie pops out of the office and practically drags Grace into the building. Announcing to Anthony that he found their girl. Anthony is one of the two owners of the A&V PI business. Their business is taking off and is going strong.

These guys have no order what-so-ever. So they get Grace to agree to bing an Office Manager and take her on as part of their family.

Jamie and Grace become instant BFF's - Jamie is awesome! I love him to death, and his partner Luke is a sweetheart :)

Then there is Jamal and his girlfriend Ivy. Jamal is the clown. He loves to make people laugh.

Then that leaves us with Vinnie *sigh*

Vinnie and Anthony grew up together, kind of in a mob type situation. Vinnie was always the muscles. The Enforcer, The guy that gets things done.

And when he sees strange men hitting on Grace, his over-protectiveness gets the best of him every time.

Grace is intimidated by Vinnie, and nervous around him. But there is something about him that leaves her thinking about him more often and in better ways than she should.

Breaking through Vinnie's shell is tough. But caving into her desires is even harder.

Cute story ! I'm really glad I got the chance to read this :)

Looking forward to "Funny girl" Coming out this winter and "Smart Girl" Coming out in Feb 2014
Both Janie's and Dee's stories look really good :) You get a little sneak peek at the end :D

Juls Review

This was a very cute story about a group of friends who make a pack to see who can have their first orgasm. What starts out as finding the big "O" leads one of the girls to find something so much more fulfilling.

Grace is known as the "nice girl". She doesnt want that image to define her and with a little workout and a new look she sets herself on her new path. What she doesnt realize though is that regardless of how much weight you lose or what you wear its what's inside that makes you who you are. 
I really didnt like the fact that Grace seemed almost vain when it came to her looks. Every morning we were given what she wore and how much she weighed. 
A scene towards the end kinda bothered me. Grace say "big" girl like its a horrible thing and to me it made her seem very superficial. Weight loss shouldnt define who you are but she allows it to make her who she is. 

Besides the weight things that was going on, Grace made really great friends. These people she saw daily became like family to her. I think the side characters made the story. Jamie and Luke, those two were so cute together and Jamal, even though Ivy his fiance had him whipped he didnt care and made him more of a man to admit this. And Anthony, he crude and is way vulgar but he's super sweet to Grace and Vinnie, yeah he's the super sexy brooding type. 

This series moves on with Grace's girlfriends, Eve, Dee and Janie. Hopefully these other 3 arent too worried about their weight so much. 

Side note: I really believe that this author needs to find an editor. I usually dont care about spelling, I tend to get the gist of it but there were words missing and or misspelled to say a different word. 

Monday, January 21, 2013

Starflower Guest Post


When a cursed dragon-witch kidnaps the lovely Lady Gleamdren, Eanrin sets boldly forth on a rescue mission...and a race against his rival for Gleamdren's favor. Intent upon his quest, the last thing the immortal Faerie needs is to become mixed up with the troubles of an insignificant mortal.

But when he stumbles upon a maiden trapped in an enchanted sleep, he cannot leave her alone in the dangerous Wood Between. One waking kiss later, Eanrin suddenly finds his story entangled with that of young Starflower. A strange link exists between this mortal girl and the dragon-witch. Will Starflower prove the key to Lady Gleamdren's rescue? Or will the dark power from which she flees destroy both her and her rescuer?

Author Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Anne Elisabeth Stengl makes her home in Raleigh, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband, Rohan, a passel of cats, and one long-suffering dog. When she's not writing, she enjoys Shakespeare, opera, and tea, and studies piano, painting, and pastry baking. She studied illustration at Grace College and English literature at Campbell University. She is the author of HEARTLESS, VEILED ROSE, MOONBLOOD, and STARFLOWER, with DRAGONWITCH due to release in 2013. HEARTLESS and VEILED ROSE have each been honored with a Christy Award.

Where Do They Come From?
By Anne Elisabeth Stengl

When faced with the question, "How do you come up with your characters?" I always find myself struggling a bit to find a satisfactory answer. It's like being asked, "How did you come up with your brother?" Well, I didn't. He's just there, in all his unique eccentricity. Do you really think I could invent someone like that?

Of course, these characters do actually spring from somewhere in my imagination so, unlike with my brother, I am at least a little bit responsible for their existence. But it doesn't usually feel that way. I don't sit down and think to myself, "I am going to write a character who has all of these personality traits and quirks." I just write the story, and the characters come and go as they will, often surprising me along the way.

However, in the case of Starflower, I do have a slight advantage when faced with this "how do you come up with them" question. You see, a handful of these characters were not originally mine, but were plucked directly out of Celtic legend.

I am speaking of the Merry People of Rudiobus. They are ruled by King Iubdan and his fair Queen Bebo, who are directly stolen (all writers are thieves when you get right down to the nuts and bolts of it) from the legend of the Lepracaun.

Iubdan and Bebo have ruled the Lepracaun for centuries of myth and tradition. I first encountered them in a lovely illustrated volume of fairy tales and was completely taken with the details of their world. Like most of you, my primary experience with Lepracauns (or Leprechauns, as it is more commonly spelled) was the annoying little "They're Magically Delicious!" fellow from television commercials. I thought of them as cheap, silly little imps useful only for marketing sickly-sweet breakfast cereals.

 But then I encountered Iubdan and Bebo in all their majesty as they hold court in Mag Faithleinn. I read how Iubdan alone of all his people boasted jet-black hair, and how Bebo's own golden locks hung to her ankles in thick braids threaded with jewels. I learned of Glomar, son of Glas, the greatest warrior in the land, who could hew down a thistle stalk in a single stroke! And he, brave soul, always stood guard over the king's merry hall.

I also learned of Iubdan's magical steed. This horse, even though it is smaller than a rabbit, even small enough to stand in the palm of a man's hand, will "carry a grown man across the stammering sea." What a wonderful creature, I thought as I read. And beautiful too, with golden flanks, emerald legs, and a long scarlet tail.

Best of all, I read of Iubdan's chief poet, Bard Eshirt. What a merry, talented, impish man is he, ready to best anyone who dares in a battle of wits or wills! I was madly in love with him long before I reached the end of this story.

And before I knew it, I was writing stories of my own about these characters.

It didn't take me long to know I couldn't call them "Leprecauns" without coming face-to-face once more with that "They're Magically Delicious!" stereotype. So I placed them in the realm of Rudiobus Mountain instead, and called them "Rudiobans" or "the Merry People." Their hall was renamed "Ruaine" instead of the mouthful that was "Mag Faithleinn," but it was much the same as the original, full of light and laughter and dancing.

After much struggle, I eventually renamed Eshirt as well. I simply did not feel the name suited him, despite centuries of tradition. So I called him Eanrin, which means "handsome," and I liked him all the better for it.

I also gave my Merry People the power to take animal shapes, after the fashion of another Irish fairy, the púca. And so I watched them come to life for me, moving about my stories in fantastical ways, developing their own culture and ways, but still heavily steeped in the classic traditions of their history. I gave Iubdan's steed the name Órfhlaith, and allowed her to speak and be understood.

And I introduced Queen Bebo's cousin Gleamdren into the mix . . . a haughty beauty, darling of the court, and source of contention between Glomar and Eanrin as they vie for her favor.

Years before I wrote the novel that is now Starflower, I was writing stories about Eanrin, Glomar, and the rest. I even tried my hand at a ballad called, The Ballad of the Flowing Gold (for which Eanrin took all credit, of course).

That unfinished ballad ended up becoming the inspiration for the opening adventures of Starflower. It told of how the Dragonwitch invaded Rudiobus and stole away the fair Lady Gleamdren in an effort to discover the secret of King Iubdan's great treasure, the mysterious Flowing Gold.

It's such a delight, looking back and remembering how all of these characters came into my life. And such a delight for me to introduce you to them now! I do hope you will pick up and enjoy Starflower and my manic Merry People.

I also hope that you will someday find a copy of the fairy tale that inspired it all: "Iubdan, King of the Lepra and the Lepracuan."

Tour Schedule