Saturday, March 30, 2013

Belong to You by Vi Keeland

Belong To YouBelong To You by Vi Keeland
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My honeymoon was almost everything I dreamed it would be, a tropical paradise, turquoise water, romantic walks on the beach, and loads and loads of mind shattering sex. The only thing missing was the groom.

After seven years of coasting through a relationship with Michael, my senses were numb. A week of passion with a stranger was just what I needed to clear my head and take back control of my life. But how do you move on when the man that was only supposed to be a fling somehow seeps into your soul and steals your heart?




Juls Review
First off, I have to say thank you to Ms Keeland for allowing me to review her book for her.
It was an ARC so I did see a lot of grammatical errors and the phrase "turned on" was used WAY TOO many times!!! hint hint ;)
I did really enjoy this sexually charged and highly tense ride you took me on though.
Now on to my review.....

I totally didnt see the cliffy coming at the end. I mean I kinda did when there was so much shit going down but still, it was there and I have to say it was a nice surprise.

I absolutely adored the beginning of this book. Who doesnt love a good weeks worth of crazy let your guard down and open your mind to some mind blowing, make your girly bits come to life and try to come out unscathed kinda romp? This girl right here! Loved every minute of the days Syd and Jack spent in Hawaii. It was only just an agreement for the week but what happened was just the opposite. Neither of them could walk away. Physically yes but emotionally they had put in 100% and walking away was not even a possibility.

Back to reality and things were just too average. You have this millionaire that is willing to take a huge step and make a commitment and then the girl has insecurities that get in the way. Kinda sounds familiar, right? But Ms Keeland does a great job though to make you feel the intensity that looms around them.

This story has lots of potential. I really loved the concept of the story. I cant wait to find out what all the animosity Jack has against his father and can things work out for Jack and Syd with her being gone for so long? Can she trust him and vice versa? I'm very interest in how the rest of this series will play out.

View all my reviews

Friday, March 29, 2013

Eden South - Tour Wide Giveaway!!!


Eden-South (Eden #3)
 The Eden Series
Eden-South Synopsis:

The betrayal that tore a family apart. Two brothers bent on destroying the other. A whole world on the brink of war.

Aiden has been through his second battle in the magical world of Eden. The victory is short lived and Aiden is sent racing toward his friends in the Capital. After being back in Eden with the Riders, he is eager to reunite with Wolf, Elisa and Logan, although he doesn’t realize just what he’s returning to. Surprises await him when he arrives in the Capital; his close-knit group of friends is slowly falling apart. On top of it all, another battle is just around the corner, one that will change everything.

Rain has made her choice, and now she is in some unknown fortress with the feared sorcerer, Aziz. She wants nothing more but to please him, but being his Queen isn’t as easy as she thought. While trying to learn sorcery, and dealing with Aziz’s advances, Rain is finding her new life a bit overwhelming. Just when she thought it couldn’t get worse, she discovers a secret of Aziz’s, and it is nothing she could have expected.

Rose has supported Callum throughout their journey, but now that the final battle is just around the corner she is faced with a hard reality. Everything she has gained with him could be taken away. Is she willing to live the rest of her life without him? Can she just stand by while he destroys everything, including himself? Will he ever be able to find peace? Will she?

In the third installment of the Eden Series fates will be decided, and the battle between brothers that has been a decade in the making will finally come to an end. Only one of them can be High King.

The battle starts now.

Buying Links
Amazon  |  Amazon Paperback  |  B&N


Praise for Janelle Stalder and Eden-South
Eden-South is jam packed with heart-stopping action, eye-watering emotion and breathtaking romance. I love this series and I will definitely read it over and over again, it is without a doubt a must-read for everyone.
Kayleigh Gore – K-Books

It was my favorite thus far in the series. Run out as soon as it's available! It's a great book, and series, for older and YA audiences alike!
Alana Rock – Dark Obsession Chronicles

“It’s not often that you want more than to enjoy a book but to crawl in the page and experience it. This is it. The world building is fantastic. The cast is amazing. I’m surely in love with each of the guys in the book…This is just a full body cast. I haven’t met many authors who could write so many characters and you don’t feel cheated that you didn’t get enough of your favorite…The writing is phenomenal and spectacular world building and cast. You won’t be disappointed by this one. Those that love Hunger Games, Game of Thrones, and Divergent will surely enjoy this series.”
Terri – My Book Boyfriend


EXCERPT: 

Perpetual darkness.
Stone walls surround you at every moment, offering no escape from the blackness that encompasses everything. The torches did little to light the way. No windows decorated the walls. It was damp and cold, the air musky and, at times, almost sickening with the stench of sweat, blood, and something else she did not want to know. It had occurred to her within the first couple of days that she was most likely underground somewhere. The earthy smell clung to everything. Even as her eyes got used to the lighting, her heart ached for fresh air and the warm touch of the sun.
            Then there was the screaming. No matter the time of day, which was hard to judge, there was screaming. Most of the time is was the wailing of the beasts he created. Occasionally a very human scream would echo off the stone walls. Those would set her on edge, and she’d catch herself grinding her teeth together. More than anything, it was the enraged screams of someone, or something, that Rain couldn’t identify. A scream so full of hate and sorrow that she didn’t know whether she should cry for the person or be afraid of them. It was this scream that haunted her even in her sleep. She would pull the covers up around her neck and try to ignore him, but it didn’t help. He couldn’t be ignored. It wasn’t until his voice was raw and worn did he finally cease. Nothing could have prepared her for this.


 Juls Review for Eden South

Where do I begin?  Eden South had me riveted from the start!  I couldn’t read this book fast enough.   I went through so many emotions while I was back in Eden.  I felt them all.  The joy, loss, hurt and betrayal, all of them felt real.  I had an internal battle with myself when the fight began with Jameson and Callum.  Who do you root for when you want them both to win?  Can they finally call a truce?  

The world of Eden is in an uproar.  It seems as though everyone wants a piece but will there be anything left with all the destruction that ensues?  The army lead my King Jameson moves his troops to meet his estranged brother Callum with his army of the North.  This is not your typical sibling rivalry.  Its gone too far and lives are on the line.  Who will be the better man and call it off?  Or will their world come crashing with nothing left?   

Aiden, a normal boy from another world, is back with all his friends and even with the pending war a calm has settled over him.  Being near the rowdy bunch feels like home.  He’s brought along with him Lily a forest being and she is the cutest thing ever.  Her no nonsense attitude is very endearing and you cant help but love her.  His protectiveness over her is very sweet and I hope if the ending is what I think it is, lives will be lost and someone will have to pay dearly for his loss.

Elisa and Wolf, the highlight of the series.  I love these two and have rooted for them from the beginning.  I hoped and prayed that they would be together even though they fought like cats and dogs.  But opposites attract right?  Can these two get their acts straighten out and finally admit their love for each other or is Elisa lost to Wolf forever?  

I have to say the steaminess in this one was a huge surprise to me.  Don’t get me wrong, its very PG but the innuendos are there and oh boy!  The sexual tension was palpable but it wasn’t crude, it was very sweet and romantic.  

The ending had me slack jawed and a bit frustrated only because I want to know NOW what happens.  

Janelle’s ability to spin a tale of far off beings and a normal boy who has unknown powers is quite possibly be the most amazing thing I’ve seen of all the books I’ve read to date.   






About the Author
 Janelle Stalder 

Janelle Stalder was born and raised in Brampton, Ontario. At an early age she developed a love for literature. Her debut novel, Eden, was the first book in a series of four, released in September of 2011. The second book, Eden-West, was released in July of 2012, and the third book, Eden-South was released in March of 2013. The fourth book of the Eden Series, Eden-East, will be release at the end of 2013. She is a strong supporter of other indie authors, and loves to interact with her readers. When she’s not writing, Janelle is at home with her husband, two children, Aiden and Elora, and her two furry children, Alice and Lily. She now resides in the small town in Ontario in her old, possibly haunted, century home.

You can find Janelle at:







The Eden Series
Eden Synopsis:


Eden (Eden #1)
Eden Book 1
Trapped within the cruel world of hormones and bullies, fifteen-year-old Aiden is convinced life has more to offer him. His instincts are proven correct on the night he is awakened by a voice calling to him from outside his window. As he sleepily peers into his yard, his eyes slowly focus on a woman who says she is there to take him to Eden. Aiden is about to fulfill the life purpose he never knew he had.

It is in Eden, a land on the brink of war, where Aiden will finally learn to trust himself and those around him. Accompanied by Wolf, his sidekick Logan, and the beautiful archer, Elisa, Aiden is soon thrust into a battle to save Eden. Meanwhile Elisa, the only girl in the King's Army, is in the midst of her own struggles. Betrothed to a man she has no intention of marrying, Elisa is caught between the need to prove herself and her desire for true happiness. And now that she has met Aiden, she is more confused than ever.

In this action-packed fantasy tale, romance, adventure, and intrigue surround Aiden as he learns just what he is capable of when he discovers confidence and courage.




Buying Links
Amazon  |  Amazon Paperback  |  B&N


Check out Juls Review for Eden and Eden-West 




The Eden Series
Eden-West Synopsis:


Eden-West (Eden, #2)
Eden-West - Book 2
New beginnings, new conflicts, and new adventures arise in the second installment of the Eden Series, Eden-West.

Months after his initial journey to Eden, Aiden is learning to cope with his own transformation. His social status has changed, his friendship with his best friend Ethan is in jeopardy because of it, and worst of all, he has heard absolutely nothing from his new friends in Eden. What has become of the world he fell in love with? Are his friends safe? Is the war over? With no answers, and no hope for contact, Aiden decides to focus on his life in his world.

Just as he makes this decision, he encounters a familiar bright light and thinks he knows exactly what it means. Except the light isn’t at all what he expects and neither is the person behind it. When Aiden returns to Eden, it is to a whole new part of that special world, and a whole new set of adventures.

Weeks after Aiden was returned to his own world, Elisa is sent to Nysa, the revered Southern city, to retrieve the one thing she’d rather avoid – Wolf. Captain Turk instructed her to get in and get out - but that is easier said than done. When she finds her missing friend, she also stumbles upon a great deal of trouble. This trouble goes by one name – Markus, the leader of the Sun People.

Follow all your favorite characters as they ready themselves for battle and fight for a world threatened to be destroyed.




Buying Links






The Eden Series
Eden-South Synopsis:


Eden-South (Eden #3)
Eden-South Book 3
The betrayal that tore a family apart. Two brothers bent on destroying the other. A whole world on the brink of war.

Aiden has been through his second battle in the magical world of Eden. The victory is short lived and Aiden is sent racing toward his friends in the Capital. After being back in Eden with the Riders, he is eager to reunite with Wolf, Elisa and Logan, although he doesn’t realize just what he’s returning to. Surprises await him when he arrives in the Capital; his close-knit group of friends is slowly falling apart. On top of it all, another battle is just around the corner, one that will change everything.

Rain has made her choice, and now she is in some unknown fortress with the feared sorcerer, Aziz. She wants nothing more but to please him, but being his Queen isn’t as easy as she thought. While trying to learn sorcery, and dealing with Aziz’s advances, Rain is finding her new life a bit overwhelming. Just when she thought it couldn’t get worse, she discovers a secret of Aziz’s, and it is nothing she could have expected.

Rose has supported Callum throughout their journey, but now that the final battle is just around the corner she is faced with a hard reality. Everything she has gained with him could be taken away. Is she willing to live the rest of her life without him? Can she just stand by while he destroys everything, including himself? Will he ever be able to find peace? Will she?

In the third installment of the Eden Series fates will be decided, and the battle between brothers that has been a decade in the making will finally come to an end. Only one of them can be High King.

The battle starts now.




Buying Links
Amazon  |  Amazon Paperback  |  B&N


Tour Wide Giveaway
Please post this with your tour stop content … we are pleased to announce this awesome giveaway exclusive to the Eden-South Blog Tour!! 

1 Grand Prize Winner will receive:
1 personalized and signed paperback copy of Eden, Eden-West, and Eden-South by Janelle Stalder
1 Custom Bookmark Inspired by The Eden Series
1 Limited Edition Map

5 Winners will receive:
1 digital copy of Eden-South by Janelle Stalder
1 "Paper Punch" Bracelet Inspired by The Eden Series and signed by Janelle Stalder

10 Winners will receive:
1 digital copy of Eden by Janelle Stalder


Thursday, March 28, 2013

The Promise of Paradise by Allie Boniface

The Promise of Paradise
The Promise of Paradise 
by Allie Boniface

Contemporary Romance
Date Published: 2/14/13

Ashton Kirk, youngest daughter of a prestigious senator, fiancee of a hotshot attorney, and fresh Harvard graduate, is headed for a promising law career when scandal breaks apart her family. To escape, she rents an apartment in the sleepy town of Paradise, New Hampshire, where no one knows who she is.
Ashton hopes for solitude, but all bets are off when Eddie West, the town’s most eligible bachelor, moves in downstairs. Eddie likes his women and his cars shiny, sleek, and fast, and when he meets his new housemate, he wastes no time getting friendly. While he's looking for a no-strings romance, though, he gets more than he bargained for in Ash, who sees through his bravado to the pain of a loss too fresh to mention.

Can two people from different worlds find common ground, a place to fall in love and build a future? Is it possible to find your soul mate in the place you least expect?



EXCERPT:



            “You okay?” Eddie glanced over his shoulder.
            “Yeah. Just resting.” Ash reached for another chair, but this one sprung open when she touched it, and the next thing she knew, it had pinched her finger in its hinge. Hard.
            “Ow! Dammit.” Yanking the finger free, she blinked back tears. “That hurt.” A blood blister welled up immediately, and she put it to her mouth to try and suck away the pain.
            In an instant Eddie was there. He reached for her hand and held it under the weak light that shone out from the kitchen. “Ouch. That’s gonna sting for a while.”
            “No kidding.”
            He looked at her, concern in his eyes, and suddenly Ash knew she was in trouble. Big, huge, complicated trouble. She felt as if someone had pushed her out of a plane from about a million miles up, and in that moment on the roof, when Eddie held her hand in his, she fell and kept falling, past the point where she knew whether it was right or wrong, to some bottomless, buoyant space where all she wanted to do was stay in his gaze forever.
            “Ash? You okay? You want some ice?”
            God, she loved the way the words sounded in his mouth. She loved the way he took her nickname and made it sound like no one else ever had. Even the pinpricks of desire Colin had once stirred now seemed like long-dead embers.
            “No, I think it’s—” She couldn’t finish the thought, not with his eyes on her like that. She wanted to pull her hand away, to run the finger under cold water and make the sting go away. But she couldn’t move. Eddie’s gaze traveled from her hand to her face, and in the next instant there was no more space between them: no floor, no rooftop, barely any air at all.



Allie Boniface
5 Favorite Hero-Heroine Moments in my Books

Thank you so much for having me here today! Welcome to my "5 Things" virtual book tour, otherwise known as "Two Weeks Getting To Know a Little More About Allie." While I'm touring with Reading Addiction Blog Tours to let readers know about my newly released book, The Promise of Paradise, I'm also chatting about my writing life (and okay, sometimes my non-writing life too). Anytime you leave a comment on one of my blog posts during these 2 weeks, you'll be entered for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift certificate. So comment away! I'll be popping in here all day to see what you have to say :)

For today's blog post, I decided to do a little self-reflecting and look back on some of my favorite moments between the heroes and heroines in my books. If you've read the stories, you'll know what I'm talking about ;) If you haven't, now's the perfect time to take a peek at a few of those heart-skipping moments. And they aren't always the moments the characters are swept away by a kiss, but sometimes the anticipation of that kiss, the realization that Something Special is brewing between the characters. Fun, right? Enjoy :)

1. From Summer's Song: The moment Damian sings an original song to Summer on the front porch of the house he's been restoring for her...

“Do you ever write anything of your own?”
He turned toward her. The movement pressed his thigh against hers, and she thought for a minute he might kiss her. His gaze moved to her mouth and then to the place where the white skin of her breast met the vee of her sundress.
“Yes,” Damian said, his breath warm on her cheek. “Sometimes I write my own songs.”
He repositioned the instrument, curved his fingers into place and began to play. The melody was simple, a sweet tune that rose and fell without lyrics. It reminded Summer of a butterfly in the morning or dawn above the ocean. The notes dropped honey-like into an endless pool of longing. In the middle, it changed, became low and sensual with guttural chords that hovered and hung in the air. Damian’s shoulders hunched, and his arms tightened with intensity as he played on. A pause, and then the first melody returned, sweeter than the start, if that was possible. The sun coming out after a brilliant summer storm. A baby waking with a smile to a brand new day. It faded, grew, then faded again to nothing. With the final chord, the notes vanished into the night.

2. From One Night In Napa: The moment when runaway vixen Kira lets down her guard and allows Grant, a local reporter, to photograph her...

Grant kneeled on the sofa and started with her face. Heart-shaped chin. Round dark eyes. No smile. He zoomed out for a view that took in her entire delicate frame. She sat with her arms wrapped around her knees, drawn up to her chest. Protecting something, he thought. Keeping out the camera, even though she’d been the one to suggest the photos in the first place.
He changed angles, moving to her far left side, until all he could see was her sharp profile and the darkness beyond. His throat tightened. God, she was beautiful. His fingers twitched. He continued to shoot, changing position an inch or two at a time. He stopped only once, to switch to black and white film. The minutes passed, and she relaxed by degrees. By the time he found a place to balance on the opposite side of the fireplace, she’d loosened her grip on her ankles. Her smile became true again.
He took a few more, of her face only. Long lashes. Smooth brows. Cheekbones that might cut glass if given the chance. Her gaze smoldered down at him in the viewfinder. He swallowed and felt himself grow hard again, but he didn’t try to fight the longing anymore. He laid the camera to the side with one hand and reached for Kira with the other.

3. From One Night in Memphis: The moment when sports journalist Ethan meets his match in debating sports "greats" with Dakota at a blues club on Beale Street...

 “Hello? Earth to Ethan.”
“Sorry. Quarterback? Joe Montana, naturally.”
“Oh, naturally,” Dakota grinned. “I say Dan Marino. Broke every passing record in the books.”
“No way. What about Montana’s four Super Bowl rings? Marino couldn’t even manage one.”
She winked. “Call it a tie, then. Hockey?”
“Tough call. I’ll go with Gretzky. Mario Lemieux a close second.”
“Baseball?”
“Greg Maddux for pitching, Hank Aaron for hitting.” Ethan leaned forward on both arms. “Soccer?” he asked, before she could say anything else.
Dakota paused a moment and looked startled. “Easy. PelĂ©. Though I’ll take David Beckham if we’re talking marketability.”
He laughed out loud. “Impressive. I give up. How do you know so much about sports?”
“Please. I’ve waited tables for the last six years. Only thing that’s on TV in the restaurant is ESPN. All the time.”
Ethan's fingers twitched, and suddenly the desire rushed back, whole and hot, and all he wanted to do was reach across the table and touch her. Work that halter-top away from her skin. See how that collarbone tasted.

4. From One Night in Boston: The moment when Maggie and Jack, lovers who split up ten years earlier and never forgot each other, reconnect at an upscale charity ball...

“I never thought I’d see you again.”
He chuckled. “That’s an understatement.”
Maggie began to wind her hair into a knot.
“Don’t.” Jack raised a hand to pull her fingers away. “I thought you might have cut it short. You threatened to.”
“We threatened a lot of things back then.”
“We were kids.”
“You make it sound like it was a hundred years ago.”
“It feels like it was.”
Inches separated them, and the fabric of her dress brushed the one hand he pressed to the bench. “I wish things could have turned out differently,” he said, shifting and moving closer to her. “You have no idea how much I missed you after I got to London.”
Maggie nodded. She looked at her toes, the floor, the collection of flowers by the door. After a long minute, she dared herself to meet his gaze again, to fall into the memories that lay there and return the desire Jack wasn’t bothering to hide. The lights from the ballroom cast shadows inside the arboretum; the music, muted, floated inside.
“Mags, I…” He stopped. Raised one hand to her face. Ran his thumb across her bottom lip. And kissed her again.
A whimper escaped her lips as Jack moved his mouth to her earlobe and down one side of her neck. He whispered something into the hollow of her throat, burying his face in her hair. For a crazy moment, she wanted to tear off her dress, peel away his tuxedo, feel his bare skin against hers and remember the way they’d moved together a hundred times. A monumental ache consumed her.

5. From The Promise of Paradise: The moment when housemates Eddie and Ash dance on their rooftop and realize they're falling for each other...

Their fingers met and twisted together, as if they’d done so a hundred times before. He spun her under his arm, and strong fingers moved across the small of her back. They guided her away and then back to him. They pressed into her palm, burning her skin a little. The music bled into her veins as they danced around the roof, and for a few minutes, Ash forgot everything. It was just she and Eddie and some silly song. Nothing else mattered, except being in Paradise with someone who wouldn’t judge her or expect anything from her. In that instant, she wanted to stay twenty-six, laughing and dancing on rooftops, forever.

So there you have it – 5 swoon-worthy moments! Hope at least one has teased you into wanting to read more!


Allie Boniface  

Author Bio: 

Allie Boniface is a small-town girl at heart who's traveled around the world and still finds that the magic

and the mystery of small towns make them the best places to fall in love and find adventure. From the

New England coast to Rocky Mountain hotels to tiny European bars, she's found more character and

plot inspirations than she could ever count. Currently, she's lucky enough to live in New York's beautiful

Hudson Valley with her own "Hometown Hero," a guy who can fix, build, drive, and grill anything and is

the epitome of the strong and silent type.

When she isn't writing love stories, Allie is a full-time high school English teacher who gets a kick out

of helping her teenagers negotiate the ups and downs of writing along with the ups and downs of life

(because, really, she's still trying to do the same thing!). And while she'll continue to travel far and wide,

Allie knows there's really nothing like coming back to the place where the people who have known you

forever welcome you home with open arms.

Website     
Twitter - @AllieBoniface1
Buy Link





Jen's Review 

Loved this story - Just what I needed to get me out of my reading funk :)

Ashton Kirk is the daughter of the Senator of Boston - But it looks like The Senator has been taking advantage of his hi status in the world, because he was caught with drugs, in the back of his car with a 19 year old prostitute while heavily drunk -

we all know the news makes things out more than what they really are, but Ashton hated everything that was going on. She didn't know what to believe.

She is a Harvard Graduate for Law, but she doesn't want to be a Lawyer... Her boyfriend of 3 years left as soon as her dad's publicity got out - what's a girl to do?

So she headed out of town , got herself a top apartment in a small town in order to get her life back on track.

When she got there, she had learned about her new Housemate , Eddie – she was anxious to meet him, but dreading it as well.
Her BFF Jen thought meeting someone hot would take her mind off things – but Ashton just wanted time to think… time to settle.

When she met her new neighbor, she introduced herself as Ashly Kirkland (Because that’s SO FAR OFF from Aston Kirk….. )

So her new life begins. She gets a job at Blues and Booze ? The local restaurant/jazz club that was so popular.

Eddie - sweetheart of a guy, but a player - doesn't believe in deep meaningful relationships. He just wants to have a good time, but there is something about his and Ash's friendship that makes him want to know her as a friend before anything else.
But getting Ashley to talk about herself is like trying to pull teeth.

When Eddie caves in and tells Ash about himself, his brother, and why he's really living out here, Ash still couldn't bring herself to let Eddie know about her father. She knew that he would be mad she lied to him all this time...

This was a cute story - but felt really rushed. And I'm not sure why Ash felt like she really lied a lot to Eddie when to me, it was JUST A NAME - and I kind of think Eddie blew the whole thing out of per-portion when he DID find out... Yeah it was pretty bad timing, but still - She had told him about her break-up with her ex, and about getting away to think - it seems like her name was the ONLY thing she lied about -so I didn't truely understand Eddie's full reaction -

BUT that's just me - maybe you'll get more of it out of this book - i thought it was a cute story - I enjoyed reading it and I'm excited to read about Lucas's story that comes out in May (excerpt is in the back :)


Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Book Blast! Blue Hearts of Mars by Nicole Grotepas


Blue Hearts of Mars by Nicole Grotepas


Retta Heikkinen knows the unspoken rule of society: love between androids and humans is forbidden. A simple enough edict until Hemingway Koskinen spends an evening charming her with his intense gaze, bewitching smile, and sparkling conversation that hints at so much more than the usual obsessions of high school boys. Rules were meant to be cast aside, especially when love beckons.

If only it were as simple as being in love.

Trouble is brewing, not just for Hemingway--for all androids. Secrets have been kept, lies propagated, and Retta soon discovers that a frightening future awaits thousands of androids if she doesn’t do something to stop it. Worse yet, she will lose the one love she’s ever endangered herself for: Hemingway.



Praise

"Nothing like I've read before. A true original story! Everything is so well described. Now if they could make a follow up book and movie, that would be great!" ~Mrs. Z (Amazon)

"I was addicted to this book from the beginning. Life on Mars was very real and not at all a sci fi world I didn't understand . . . I found myself rooting for Retta and Hemingway from the very beginning. Easy reading, couldn't put it down and had it read in a weekend. Waiting for a sequel!" ~TNielsen (Amazon)

"The ending of this book is exceptional. While it was different from what I imagined, the way the author brought in a shocking revelation was amazing. I probably reread the last chapter 3 times letting it sink in and the meaning behind it. It was truly beautiful . . . I would love to see more of Retta and Hemingway!" ~Kat Meyer, (Goodreads)

"I love how the author populated Mars . . . so descriptive and comprehensive . . . I could clearly picture everything as if I was seeing the movie &/or was along for the ride. . . . Retta, the main character, is strong, opinionated, and a great champion for her cause." ~Megan (Amazon)

"I had been in the worst reading slump ever and came across this on Goodreads and thought I'd give it a try. Well, I was pleasantly surprised on how funny and exciting and mysterious it was . . . Mei, Retta's bff, had me laughing out loud quite a bit as well as Retta herself. I'd definitely hang out with those two." ~Deanneluvbooks (Goodreads)



Blue Hearts of Mars has made it to the quarterfinals of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

Readers are invited to download the excerpts (here) and rate and comment on the entries. So please, if you want to contribute, download and rate Blue Hearts! Your support is incredibly appreciated!


Or purchase the full version of the book here: Amazon




Author Nicole Grotepas

Nicole wrote her first fantasy novel in 7th grade on her mother's old Brother typewriter. It was never finished but it strongly resembled a Dragonlance plot and she's forever wondered what happened to the manuscript and Tonathan--the handsome elven protagonist. After living in Nashville where she worked as an editor, she returned to the Utah desert where she was raised. Nicole now lives near the Wasatch mountains with her husband. She writes and raises her son and three cats full time.





Tour Schedule





Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 4/14/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


Saturday, March 23, 2013

Lazy Days Series by K-lee Klein

Lazy Sundays
Lazy Sundays by K-lee Klein



Scott is a self-proclaimed, self-accepted, obsessive-compulsive geek—and he’s okay with that. At least until a one night stand with a gorgeous man who couldn’t be any further from geekness if he tried, somehow turns into a regular thing.

Devon is rugged, masculine, long-haired and tattooed—a man's man. Scott falls hard and fast for him, and to his complete surprise, Devon seems to have feelings for Scott as well. It all seemed so simple.

But then there's the part where Devon never wants to go out, and their regular thing is confined to those days when Devon shows up in Scott's doorway. Scott desperately wants more, but is afraid that pushing will cost him what he already has …

This was written for Adriana as part of the M/M Romance Group's 'Love is Always Write' event.


Available as a free read at:  Goodreads  Allromance


Excerpt: Lazy Sundays
from : Less Than Three Press


Watching someone sleep had to rate very high on the stalker scale. It didn’t matter if the bedroom belonged to the person doing the watching or that said person was not sneaking around or hiding while they were doing the deed. No, none of that was the issue at all for Scott Weston. It was more the fact he did it every single time Devon stayed over. Since that number was up in the high twenty-something range, stalking had to be involved.

It wasn’t like he purposely woke up early to stare at the beautiful, tattooed man who had by some serious stroke of luck become his lover. He hadn’t set out to see how cute it was when Devon’s bottom lip puffed out just the tiniest bit when he snored or how he muttered and giggled—actually giggled—when he was dreaming. And Scott certainly hadn’t wanted to giggle like a teenage girl himself when he saw how Devon reached out for him when he left the warmth of the bed, then snuggled Scott’s pillow when he couldn’t find the real thing.

No. Scott watched Devon because he couldn’t for the life of him figure out why Devon kept coming back. Scott prided himself on having a rational, logistically-configured brain and there was nothing about Devon reappearing time and again that fit into any of his logically set-up hypotheses. The data that brought about the unexplainable outcome was overwhelming, but just did not compute in Scott’s mind. Sure the sex was great and in that way they were very compatible, but in all other ways they didn’t seem to have anything in common.

Devon Ducaine was hot. Hell, even his name was hot and when he said it with that slight hint of a Southern accent it made Scott weak in the knees. And there, that right there—weak in the knees—was another clear example of how preposterous it was for Scott and Devon to even have a conversation let alone a relationship or whatever it was they were having. Scott was the kind of guy who actually used that phrase like some old-fashioned granny in a rocking chair. Devon, on the other hand, was more likely to say “you rock my fucking world, dude.”

Devon was what Scott would describe as a man’s man, every holey jeans, tight t-shirts, nipples and ears pierced, motorcycle boots-wearing bit of him. He always had a hint of eau de motor oil mixed in with all the other delicious scents that poured off him, more than likely because he drove a motorcycle or was it rode one? Scott could never remember the correct term. He barely knew a motorcycle from a scooter, just another one of those illogical incompatibilities in their relationship.

When Devon had practically begged him to watch a football game on a couple of Sundays because his beloved Saints were facing an awesome match-up, it had added another thing they did not have in common to Scott’s growing list. In the end Scott hadn’t minded at all, content to rest his head on Devon’s lap and read. He’d loved seeing another side to Devon’s personality that matched the enthusiasm he usually saved for the bedroom, plus when Devon’s Saints did win he was always horny as hell.

But back to Devon’s hotness. Almost six feet—if Scott had to guess he’d say five foot, ten and three-quarter inches—of muscled, ropey not bulky, toned manly man. Add a bubble butt that could stop a truck, the sweetest crooked smile this side of the Mississippi, brown doe eyes batting long, dark lashes any woman would be jealous of, thick dark-brown waves of hair that touched his collar in the back, and a permanent five o’clock shadow, and you had the stunning man that was Devon Ducaine. The intriguing artwork that decorated his arms and part of his back was just icing on the proverbial perfect cake.

Then there was Scott. He was three inches—possibly three and three-quarters—shorter than Devon, but there wasn’t a muscle to be had unless you counted the big, engorged one between his ears. He wasn’t a hundred pound weakling and wouldn’t take first or even second place in an ugly contest by any means, but he had none of the physical attributes that made Devon a walking bundle of sex. His blonde hair was the unattractive color of dishwasher, his blue eyes were closer to the color of a cloudy ocean than a glimmering sea, and his nose was definitely more Romanesque than Devon’s turned-up button.

Devon was so far out of his league he was in the wrong ballpark and that bugged the living crap out of Scott.

“You think too much, especially so early on a Sunday morning.” Devon’s soft eyes were still hazy from sleep, one side of his face sported a wrinkly line from the pillow, and his hair was more a mess than his usual casually-messed ‘do. He still made Scott weak in the knees.

“I was just wondering if you wanted, you know, breakfast.” Phew, good answer, Scott. Not.

Devon reached an arm from beneath the covers, snagging Scott’s hand and tugging him oh-so-not-gracefully onto the bed. He landed with an oof on top of Devon.

“Good morning,” Devon purred. Oh fuck yeah, Scott was sure he actually purred. “Happy Sunday.”

Before he could answer, Scott’s lips were taken in a sweet kiss, Devon’s hand sliding into his hair and holding him close. He pulled away with a groan.

“Ug, morning breath, sorry.”

Devon didn’t release his hold. “Don’t you know if we both have it, it cancels out? Besides, you taste damn good to me.”

Ah, Devon was relentless in his charm and a weak-kneed Scott fell back into bed with his Adonis without a single question in his over-thinking mind.


_________________________________

Our ratings: 5 of 5 stars

 Juls Review
Lazy Sundays


Opposites do attract! Scott and Devon are far from your typical couple. Ones a well known rock star and the other is a nerdy accountant. But the attraction between the two is undeniable. From the moment they first met to the last page of the book, their spark could ignite chaos.

Scott meets Devon at a Jazz bar and from there it moves to an every weekend thing. Devon is at Scott’s door every Saturday and Sunday’s they spend lazying around and now the best part of the week for the two is Sundays. Awww right???

Scott may think he’s just a nerdy accountant but normalcy is his major appeal. Devon is a bit hardcore but when he’s with Scott all is right in his world.

A little angst thrown in for good measure and lots and lots of sweetness and that my friends, makes for a great read.




Jen's Review 
Lazy Sundays

Awe - Cute story! I love stories that are meaningful and get you thinking :)

Life isn't about your looks, or how others see you on the outside. it's the inside that counts.

When looking at Scott, you see a typical Accountant - geeky guy, great with numbers, OCD, and low self esteem.
But you don't see the sweetness that's inside. How caring he is and how wonderful he is. And HOT! Geeky is HOT :)

Then there is Devon - Typical Rock star type. Thick build, Tight clothes, tattoos, piercings - the first thing you think of is Sex God! Player, druggie - right?? Wrong - Devon doesn't have a player's bone in his body. He's out to love, and love hard.

Sure Devon wasn't looking to "get his rocks off" when he first saw Scott, but he was attracted to him.
Why? Scott hadn't had a clue, but Devon saw something in Scott that Scott couldn't see in himself.

The book was about how Opposites attract, because we see a Geek and a Rock star together. But I think I got a little deeper meaning to it.. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Both of these guys were sweethearts, and I really enjoyed reading their story :D


_________________________________________________________________________________ Lazy Valentines
Lazy Valentines by K-lee Klein


It's Valentine's Day and Devon Ducaine has never felt so much excitement and nervousness in his entire life. Taking the stage to sing to hundreds or thousands of people has nothing on trying to right the wrongs of your past with the man you love and almost lost. 

Scott Weston never imagined he'd have anyone like Devon in his life, let alone ever having someone he loved say those three little words back to him. When Devon invites him out for a whole day of Valentine surprises, it's the most romantic thing Scott's ever had happen to him. But surprises and new experiences can cause panic, and Scott's anxiety and panic attacks are always an issue when he's faced with the unknown. 

Devon and Scott love each other, but is it enough to get through what's supposed to be the most romantic day of the year? Will they let nerves and guilt over-ride their hearts or can Valentine's Day be the start of the next phase in their relationship, one of honesty, sharing and trust? 

~~Lazy Valentines is a free story and sequel to Lazy Sundays. It can possibly be read as a stand-alone but works much better if read after Lazy Sundays. Both stories will be included in an extended novel-sized book to be released later in the year by Less Than Three Press.~~


Available as a free reads at:     Less Than Three Press


Excerpt: Lazy Valentines
from : Less Than Three Press
Devon Ducaine knocked cheerfully on the door of Scott’s condo, excitement making his usually calm body twitch with anticipation. He’d hoped Scott would answer right away, just come flying to the door because he missed Devon so much and couldn’t wait to get his hands on him. When that didn’t happen, Devon fought the urge to knock again. He didn’t want to seem too desperate or needy and it was ass o’clock in the morning so he forced himself to be patient, humming an old tune quietly to pass what seemed like hours of standing on the stoop.

But as minute after minute passed with no response he felt his confidence ebbing away. He stood on the step a while longer, shuffling his feet and wondering just when the hell he’d become the nervous one in his and Scott’s relationship. He suspected it had something to do with the mutual I love you’s they’d confessed during their reconciliation, barely a week ago. There was just something different—something awesome but also scary—about loving someone and knowing they loved you back. And having the words spoken brought everything to an all new level.

Devon had never told anyone he loved them before, except his bandmates and family, of course, but saying it to Scott had seemed natural. Scott had even questioned how he could say it so easily. To be fair, Devon had just been punched in the face by his best friend and probably had a concussion, so the words might have rolled off his tongue a little more freely than they normally would. But concussed or not, he’d been feeling them in his heart for a quite a while before.

Being in love felt good. Devon though it was like the end of a really awesome gig that had the audience screaming and stomping for a first, second and third encore, except one hundred times better. He’d had a hard time keeping his business-face and composure on his recent trip when an overwhelming urge to smile seeped into his heart every time he thought about Scott. Which had been just about all the time.

They’d texted a few times a day plus talked every night about whatever popped into their heads. There might have been a little phone sex, too, but it was mild compared to what Devon really wanted to do to and with Scott, once they were in the same freaking state. Though just holding him when he slept was pretty far up on the list, as well.

Scott had also sent a ranting email about his mother that Devon had tried his hardest to dissect, but the words had been little more than frustrated, rambling sentences on the page. The email had worried Devon a bit. He’d tried to bring it up with Scott but had been met with a dozen assurances that is was “nothing important” and a brick wall of apologies for sending the email in the first place. Devon’s mama hadn’t raised any fools though, and he knew Scott well enough to realize whatever he was trying shrug off had to be damn important. Not something Devon should just let go.

No worries, Devon would wait Scott out. He was good at waiting. He’d dropped the subject, filed it away for later and kept up the low-key texting with Scott even though every conversation just made his all-consuming need to see Scott—touch, hold, just be with him—more intense. This love stuff was tough.



_________________________________

Jens Reviews - 
Lazy Valentine's 

Awe. totally love these two!
And the author left it open for yet another story.  At the beach house :) That should be a good one. 

I actually read that Lazy Sundays and Lazy Valentines is just a little sneak peek of a full length novella that will be coming out soon.... that would be so cool! 

This story picks up a couple weeks after the last one left off. Devon had to go on the road for a bit with the band, but they kept close contact.

When Valentine's Day arrives, Devon is determined to make it the best for Scott.
Little did Devon know, Scott had never celebrated Valentine's day before. so they were in for a special treat.

Totally love this couple. Can't wait to read more about them :)

Friday, March 22, 2013

Give Me Something by Elizabeth Lee Giveaway!

Give Me Something
Give Me Something by Elizabeth Lee


Here's the deal... I learned a long time ago that sometimes you have to use what you've got to make things happen. What I happen to have is a pretty smile, long legs and the ability to make men believe anything I say. Before you get on your high horse and start judging me, can you honestly say you've never batted your lashes at some guy for a free drink at the bar? That's what I thought. 

Keep that in mind as I tell you my story of how I took it one step further. My story of lies, deceit, manipulation and love. Yeah, love. Believe me, it fits. Especially, when you factor in Nick and Tucker – one had my heart and the other one wanted it all for himself. Which one? Well, I can't tell you that. It would defeat the purpose of the story. If I'm going to fill you in about me, Lila Garrison, and my life as a con artist you're going to need to know all the facts, including the ones about the two guys who made me want to give up the life of fancy clothes, expensive jewelry, fast cars and easy money. Because sometimes, one person can give you something that's more valuable than all of that.

If you're still interested, stick around. Just remember, I'm pretty good at convincing people to do what I want, so if by the end of this whole thing you feel worked over, don't say I didn't warn you.





Title: Give Me Something
Author: Elizabeth Lee
Publication: March 2013
When I read it: February 2013
My Rating: 4 Stars
Series / Stand Alone: Stand Alone
Buy from Amazon: Click HERE!
Buy from B&N: Click HERE!
Buy from Smashwords: Click HERE!


ABOUT ELIZABETH:

Born and raised in the middle of a Midwestern cornfield (not literally, that would be weird), I’ve spent my entire life imagining stories. Stories where the right guy always gets the right girl, first kisses are as magical as they are on the big screen and anything is completely possible if you believe.
Although this journey began years ago, it recently took on a whole new life. After years of devouring hundreds of Romance, YA and New Adult novels, I had an epiphany… I should write a book. And I did it! My first YA/New Adult novel is out now!
If I’m not reading, writing, enjoying drinks with my amazing group of girlfriends or chasing around a sarcastically funny one-year old, I’m probably watching television shows that were created for teenagers, while my husband teases that I’m too old to watch them.

CONNECT WITH ELIZABETH:






Jen's Review
Cute story!
At first I thought it would be hard to read - the real life of a con artist. And trust me, Lila didn't have any problems with tricking people into giving her things. The money was all she saw, and with Nick by her side, the two of them were able to conquer all.

we start off in collage, Lila is ready to be done with the scamming. She wants to get her life on the right track, and be with Nick - They've been friends since they were kids, learning how to work the streets at a young age, there is nothing this duo couldn't do.

Nick had one more job to pull, and that was it. But he need Lila's help.

Lila didn't want the job, but when she heard why Nick needed the money, she knew she'd do anything to get it for him.

It was at the party that Nick started the game. Lila didn't' realize why Nick kissed her like he did. She had a fantasy that Nick was really starting to realize his feelings for her, just as she felt for him.
But when Nick pulled away from the kiss, and started introducing her to his Frat brothers, things got a little strange. Especially when Tucker looked at her with those piercing blue eyes.

Tucker - sweetheart of a guy, use to getting his own way, came into a lot of money, and has had his eyes on Lila since she walked in.

Tucker and Nick were roommates, once nick explained to Lila that Tucker was the mark, it started to make since. Nick didn't do anything halfway, When he picked Tucker out for a roommate, he had started his plotting way back then.

But at the party, when Tucker's eyes met Lila's, she was drawn to him in a way she thought only Nick could draw her.

Such a cute Love Triangle this was! I loved every second. The con - Wow! It was great getting into Lila's head. She was so torn between Tucker and Nick, she really didn't' know how to pull herself out of the scam.
But once things got a little more clear for her, she was able to make her choice... But was it the right choice?? BWAHAHAHAHA!!!

Cute fun book to read :)



GIVEAWAY:
Give Me Something

Up for grabs is a signed paperback copy of both Give Me Something and Shattered.
A winner will be chosen/notified on Monday, March 25.








Make sure to check out all the other stops on the tour!
Madison Says Logo