Tuesday, November 25, 2014

The Shape of My Heart by Ann Aguirre - Release Day and Review

The Shape of My Heart  (2B Trilogy #3)

Some people wait decades to meet their soul mate. Courtney Kaufman suspects she met hers in high school only to lose him at seventeen. Since then, Courtney's social life has been a series of meaningless encounters, though she's made a few close friends along the way. Especially her roommate Max Cooper, who oozes damaged bad-boy vibes from every pore.

Max knows about feeling lost and trying to move beyond the pain he's been on his own since he was sixteen. Now it's time to find out if he can ever go home again, and Courtney's the only one he trusts to go with him. But the trip to Providence could change everything because the more time he spends with Courtney, the harder it is to reconcile what he wants and what he thinks he deserves.

It started out so simple. One misfit helping another. Now Max will do anything to show Courtney that for every heart that's ever been broken, there's another that can make it complete

Read more of Chapter one on Ann Aguirre's Blog

If my life was a romantic comedy, I wouldn’t be the star.
I’d be the witty, wise-cracking friend, telling the Reese Witherspoon character to follow her heart, and I’d be played by America Ferrera, Hollywood’s idea of an ugly duckling. But not conforming to societal beauty standards didn’t cause me any angst; I wasn’t harboring a secret desire to take off my glasses and flip my hair, so my secret love interest would realize I was beautiful all along. In my view, my looks supplied simplicity. Anyone who got with me wanted the real me, no question. Romance ranked dead last on my to-do list at the moment, however.
“You’re too picky,” Max said.
He was curled up on my bedroom floor, skimming emails on his tablet. With her boyfriend’s help, our soon-to-be-ex-roommate Nadia was currently carting the last of her early belongings downstairs, and the other half of my room was conspicuously empty. I scowled and threw a common cold plushie at his head. He batted it away with impressive reflexes, still scrolling. Since he’d posted flyers around campus, along with his email, Max was handling first contact on the apartment.
“Swap with me. You and Angus can share the master bedroom and then you can put whoever you want next door.”
As expected, he passed with an as-if gesture. “We’ll keep looking. How about this one? ‘Hey, my name is Kara. I’m a physical education major, I work part-time at Kelvin’s, and I’m a sophomore. I saw your flyer, and I’d love to meet you guys. My apartment fell through when the landlord sold the place out from under us and now I’m scrambling.’ She seems fine. All the words are even spelled correctly.”
I pretended to mull it over. “Basic language skills are important to me. Put her on the call-back list.”
“You make it sound like we’re casting a movie.”
“This is way more critical,” I reminded him. “This person will be living in my room, potentially watching me sleep.”
“I wish you’d let me help,” Nadia said, coming in to grab the last of her boxes.
Ty, her tall, ginger boyfriend, plucked a carton from her arms. His kid was running around the living room, bothering Angus, who didn’t seem to mind. I waved at both of them but didn’t get up. Truthfully, I was more than a little verklempt over her leaving, even if she was only going downstairs. In the six months since I’d moved in, we’d become good friends. When I moved in, I took over Lauren’s half of the room; she had been Nadia’s best friend from high school, so it wouldn’t have been surprising if Nadia had resented me. Instead she did her best to make me feel at home. And it wasn’t like she hadn’t given us notice. I just didn’t act on it because I secretly hoped their cohabitation wouldn’t pan out, like maybe she’d realize what a huge step it was to take on someone else’s kid.
“It’s fine,” I said. “I’m the one who procrastinated.”
Max nodded. “If I hadn’t made flyers, Kaufman here would still be waiting for the perfect roommate to drop out of the sky.”
“It could work. A skydiving roomie would be pretty sweet.”
Ty grinned. “I’d be worried about the rent.”
“The man makes a good point.” Max waved as they left, taking the rest of her worldly belongings. “Here’s another possible. ‘Saw your ad. About me: Carmen, drama major, junior. I have no annoying habits and an aversion to being homeless. Email me back!’”
“How am I supposed to choose—”
“She attached a picture.” Max handed me the tablet. “I’m inclined to say yes.”
When I saw it, I knew why. Carmen had long silky black hair, golden skin, big brown eyes, and an amazing body. While I’d definitely bang her, I didn’t want her living in my room. The possibility for problems boggled the mind.
Shaking my head, I passed the Ipad back. “No way.”
“Why not? She’s perfect!”
“She sent a wet T-shirt contest photo, dude. To random strangers. Does that speak highly of her common sense?”
He sighed. “Not really.”
“I don’t want to come home to someone shooting amateur porn in my room.”
“Are you sure? I’m positive that would look great on a resume.”
“You’re such a weirdo.”
“Guilty.” Max glanced toward the doorway, where Angus had propping himself like a fashion model.

Ann Aguirre

Ann Aguirre is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author with a degree in English Literature; before she began writing full time, she was a clown, a clerk, a voice actress, and a savior of stray kittens, not necessarily in that order. She grew up in a yellow house across from a cornfield, but now she lives in sunny Mexico with her husband, children, and various pets. She likes books, emo music, and action movies. She writes all kinds of genre fiction for adults and teens.

Amazon | B&N | BAM | Indiebound | Vroman’s | Book Depository Powell’s   Also on iBooks!

 Jen's Review Myrating: 5 of 5 stars

I recieved this book from Netgalley for a review - I'll post my review closer to the release date :)

I really loved this story! I thought Courtney would be a bitch after she moved in - Nadia didn't seem well connected with her, and all that - but Courtney was really different than I thought she'd be.

Max was pretty predictable though - I really like him - he had a screwed up past but worked hard to make something of himself. He's an all around good guy - and the friendship he and Courtney have is one that will last forever, even without being together.

Courtney learns that life isn't always as easy as it seems - even though she's never had to work for anything, she knows how strong Max is for everything he's overcome - but when she finally finds herself having to sacrifice her pride, or getting her life in order in a not so easy way, she looks at all Max has accomplished and wants nothing more than to make him proud.

Really cute story - I am sad to see the end of this Trigology - I loved all 3 stories :)

Saturday, November 8, 2014

SIDESWIPED Blog Tour with Lia Riley - Review and Giveaway

Sideswiped (Off the Map, #2)
Sideswiped (book 2) 

It was only meant to last the summer . . .

Talia Stolfi has seen more than her share of loss in her twenty-one years. But then fate brought her Bran Lockhart, and her dark world was suddenly and spectacularly illuminated. So if being with Bran means leaving her colorless NorCal life for rugged and wild Australia, then that’s what she’ll do. But as much as Talia longs to give herself over completely to a new beginning, the fears of her past are still lurking in the shadows.

Bran Lockhart knows that living without the beautiful girl who stole his heart will be torment, so he’ll take whatever time with her he can. But even though she has packed up her life in California and is back in his arms for the time being, she can’t stay forever. And the remaining time they have together is ticking by way too fast. Though fate seems determined to tear them apart, they won’t give up without a fight—because while time may have limits, their love is infinite . .

Talia passes out hard from the travel and epic reunion sex. I’m too amped for sleep, so I lie in the dark and trace her spine. Can you love someone too much? No point being afraid, might as well jump in it with both feet. I press my mouth to her neck and she undulates, responsive even from her dreams. If miracles were real, I’d swear we were designed to fit together.
I loop my arm around her waist and hold fast, until our breathing syncs. I’m drifting off when she jerks—hard—once, twice. Her body recoils as she unleashes a lung-tearing scream.
“Talia, wake up. Come on, sweetheart, talk to me.” I clamber over her, hunching protectively. “Open your eyes. It’s Bran. I’ve got you. I’m not letting go.” I keep talking while she flays my chest like she’s drowning under ice, desperate to find a break in the surface.
“Can’t breathe. I can’t breathe. I…where am…oh God. Bran.”
“I’m right here.” I cradle her while she draws another unsteady gasp. Her hair plasters her forehead in sweaty wisps.
“Give me a minute. I’ll be fine.” She pushes herself to a half-sit and sways with disorientation. “This…this happens sometimes…panic attacks or night terrors…whatever. They seem to come when I drop my guard. Or, I don’t know, maybe it’s the meds. Those pills make me feel like a toxic waste dump.”
“Have you been bad this summer?” The muscles in my neck cord. It shreds my guts to see her hurting. I’d do anything, any fucking thing, to carry her pain. I don’t fully understand the inner workings of OCD but she’s explained that for her, the condition comes in waves. Everything will be rolling along fine, more or less, and then bang—a giant squid grips her brain. She fights hard for recovery, a warrior even when she believes she’s nothing but a coward.
“No, not really.” She grinds her eyes with the backs of her hands. “I kinda danced around the edge of the rabbit hole a few times but never fell inside.”
My muscles release some tension. “Try to go back to sleep. You need the rest. Don’t worry, I’ll keep watch, okay?”
“I’m sorry to be such a psych job. It’s totally shaming.”
Her chin tips down. “Can you talk to me for a little while? Get me out of my fuckball head?”
“Hey now, I got mad love for that head, Captain.” I kiss her brow, acting chill even though I’m scared. How can I get her to settle? Then it hits me. “I want to take you surfing again.”
“Mmmm, that’d be nice.”
“Picture yourself out there, in the water, on a board, under the shooting stars.”
“With sharks eyeballing me from the depths?”
“Nah, they’re all busy hunting sea lions or some bloody mischief. This is you, the sea, and the sky. A set rolls in. You can’t make out the wave. The board lifts and you feel the momentum building. There’s fear deep in your belly, sensible, because you can’t see what’s coming or where you’re going. You fight the self-protective instincts, give yourself over, and the next thing you know—you’re having the ride of your life.”
“Thank you.” She flips in my arms so we’re belly to belly. “I mean it. That was beautiful, really, really beautiful. I’m so excited to be here, for right now—to live in the moment. But it’s like I have this…this weird mental stutter. My thoughts keep skipping over the same annoying question like a scratch on vinyl: What will we do?” Tears spill from the corners of her eyes, course silently toward her chin. “My visa.”
Talia’s been granted a three-month student visa to complete her senior thesis in history. In all its benevolent generosity, the Australian government expanded her time in the country by an extra month.
Four months—the sum of our allotted time.
“They’ll make me leave.”
“Don’t believe everything you think.” I wipe her damp cheeks.
“Can you tattoo that on my forehead?”
Maybe it’s my imagination, but the brass alarm clock on the dresser clicks louder.
Another second gone.
Another second gone.
“I’m not losing you to some shithouse immigration policy, Captain. We will be all right in the end.” I’ve no idea how the hell I’m going to solve this drama but I will figure it out. “We have to hope, otherwise we’re sunk.”
She jerks with surprised laughter.
She hiccups and covers her mouth with her hand, shoulders shaking. It takes me a second to realize she’s giggling.
“I’m funny to you right now?” This girl drives me every sort of crazy.
“I’m not laughing at you.” She works her lips together and unsuccessfully smothers the smile. “It’s—”
“Forget it.” I instinctively stiffen.
“Bran the Optimist.” She grabs my wrists, lifts my palms to her face, and plants a kiss in the center of each one. “I like this side of you.”
“Never mind. I was being dumb.”
“You were awesome.” She pecks the tip of my nose. “And for the record, I love your stupid face.”
I give her a begrudging kiss back. “I love yours too.”
Love isn’t enough of a word.
I wasted almost an entire year of my life implementing a scorched earth policy, not caring who I left burned and broken in my path.
Talia was my oasis. My salvation.
“Don’t give the visa a second thought.” I nestle her against me, rubbing her lower back in easy circles. “I’ll sort this out, I swear to you.”
Even if I don’t have the first fucking clue.

Lia Riley
Lia Riley
About the author:
Lia Riley writes offbeat New Adult Romance. After studying at the University of Montana-Missoula, she scoured the world armed only with a backpack, overconfidence and a terrible sense of direction. She counts shooting vodka with a Ukranian mechanic in Antarctica, sipping yerba mate with gauchos in Chile and swilling fourex with stationhands in Outback Australia among her accomplishments. A British literature fanatic at heart, Lia considers Mr. Darcy and Edward Rochester as her fictional boyfriends. Her very patient husband doesn't mind. Much. When not torturing heroes (because c'mon, who doesn't love a good tortured hero?), Lia herds unruly chickens, camps, beach combs, daydreams about as-of-yet unwritten books, wades through a mile-high TBR pile and schemes yet another trip. She and her family live mostly in Northern California.

Website    Facebook    Twitter    Goodreads    Tumblr

Buy Links:
B&N    BAM!    Kobo    iBooks    Google Play    Amazon

Jen's Review

After reading the first book - I received an email asking if I would read the 2nd book for an honest review -

I enjoyed reading book one - I thought it had a great ending and I was ok with the book being over -

But now at book two - things get a little more complicated
Tulia moves to Australia to be with Bran - they live together, but Tulia only has a few months before her Visa expires and she has to move back to the states - She can't get a job in Australia, so what's she going to do?

Bran doesn't care what they do, as long as they're together - he's giving up his own dreams to work overseas and help out in the world, but he'd give up anything and everything as long as he has Tulia with him.

The only problem is, Tulia isn't happy either - not knowing what she's going to do, and defiantly not happy with where her life is going - but she also see's Bran and knows he's not happy sitting behind a desk either.

When she meets Karma, Bran's friend, he tells her how it is -

Now Tulia is faced with the possibilities that she can have Bran and her Peace Corps job, while Bran has her and his Over Seas job that will make everyone happy.

But Bran doesn't do long distance relationships - he's had too much experience with that and none of it was good.

Tulia pushes for the future she knows they both want, but while she's at it, she's pushing away the one thing that Bran doesn't want to lose.

The choice is hard and scary - but is their love really strong enough to last while living so far away in the world?

The story breaks my heart, but mends it together with hope -
I'm anxious to read book 3 and see how things work out :)

Enter To Win!! 
Sideswiped (Off the Map, #2)

Thursday, October 23, 2014

I Need You by Jane Lark - Release Day - Review

I Need You (Starting Out, #3)

Guilt can eat away at you, but love can cut like a knife…

Lusting after his best friend’s girlfriend is a cliché Billy knows well – it’s the tightrope he’s walked for years.
But now Jason and Lindy have broken up and Billy can’t help but be there for the girl he’s loved from afar for so long. She’s hurting.

Fighting to find a road to the future, Lindy’s heart hurts. She’s trying to escape the truth, but Billy keeps making her face it – and it’s ugly. How can she keep living when everything is made of glass and it keeps shattering?

Her one constant is Billy. Only, rebound isn’t his style and when Lindy starts to see him in a different light, he just can’t trust her. He’s no one’s second best.

Jane Lark
Jane Lark

Jane Lark is a writer of authentic, passionate and emotional New Adult and Historical Romance stories and a Kindle bestselling author


The cover readers didn't chose, but I imagine is Billy's body ;)

Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oops - 3rd book - Guess There really was more to the story with Jason and Lindy and Rachael - Going to have to go back to read those now :)

If you haven't read the first 2 books - notice I still gave this one 5 stars - It was awesome and the Author gave a great message at the end - as a new Adult - or even an old adult, "Push your boundaries, face up to your insecurities, blow them out of the water and you can be whoever you want to be and achieve whatever you want to achieve - Self-belief is always the first step"

Yes that was just at the Author's note at the end, which really grabbed me.

in this book - you see Jason and Billy having a few drinks - something happened and for 6 months, they hadn't spoken, but Jason wants his friend back, and Billy is a great guy. He wants his friend back too.

When they're walking back, they spot Lindy across the street - she's not well at all -

Everyone knows Lindy didn't take the break up well, she's kind of self-destruct in her own life - she's miserable. After all, she and Jason had years of being together before they broke up. And when his new wife had a baby, she couldn't take it...

But there is more to Lindy than a broken heart over Jason, she has a lot going on at home, too - and keeping herself up isn't easy.

Now Billy - Sweet ol' Billy - has been in love with Lindy for years - even before she and Jason got together - I found myself thinking "WHY Billy did you live with the two of them in college?? Why would you put yourself through that torture??" But that's Billy - he's there for Lindy - he's her acre - even when she was with Jason - Sometimes they just needed to vent, sometimes they needed to laugh, things that she and Jason didn't really have.

But with Lindy hitting rock bottom, Billy vows that he would do whatever it took to make her smile again.

Taking her away for a couple of weeks was the best and worst thing he could do.
Lindy was more messed up in the head than he ever imagined, and he got pissed off that Jason didn't do anything about it.

But during those 2 weeks, Lindy found something in herself she never knew she had, and finally she started to believe she was worth more than she thought she was.

Their friendship grew stronger, but once back home, real life was still there. You can escape for a while, but it's still there when you get home.

LIndy did her best to cope, but the way she handled it, hurt Billy. And that wasn't ok -

This story had a lot of ups and downs - sometimes you felt bad for Lindy, sometimes you wanted to reach in the book and shake her until she saw things differently - but the truth hurts - her feelings were real. I know firsthand a lot of the pain she was suffering from. And the help of having someone there for her is a miracle itself.

Really a great story!! Can't wait to read the first two - I'd love to find out about Rachel :)

Monday, October 20, 2014

James Games by L.A Rose

James GamesJames Games by L.A Rose

Every year, the girls of Phi Delta Chi, Fiona Arlett’s dream sorority, hold a competition.

The prize?

James Reid, king size bar of eye candy and famous actor turned haughty undergrad.

The rules?

No girl but the winner can touch him.

The problem?

Fiona miiight have unknowingly banged his brains out last week.

Losing the competition may mean wearing a chicken suit to the sexiest Halloween costume contest, but she’d rather have feathers up her butt than let the truth out.

Unfortunately, she and James have lots in common and more chemistry than the science wing. Soon they’re sneaking around behind the backs of UCSD’s hottest and most vengeful girls.

If they find out?

Fiona’s screwed.

Buy on Amazon now!


“Leave,” James repeats. The word sweeps over the boys surrounding me like an icy cold breeze from the asscrack of Antarctica. He’s really got the serial killer vibe going on. Even I have to resist the urge to jump up and run for the hills. I don’t blame my harem for scattering, leaving me sitting exposed and undefended on the counter, at the mercy of James Reid.

I point at him. “You scared away my harem.”

“Those guys were looking at you like you’re a piece of meat.” His tone is thick with disgust.

“Technically I am a piece of meat. Plus bones and stuff. Also, don’t you think that’s a bit hypocritical?”

I expect him to scoff at this, to shrug it off or deny it. Instead he cuts his eyes away from me. “I’m sorry,” he says finally. “I shouldn’t have jump—”

“Jump-started my car for me,” I interrupted loudly, fully aware that Sigrid is straining to listen in on our conversation, even if she is across the room. “You’re right. You should have just let me take it to the shop. Some things should be done by professionals.”

A ghost of a smile traces its way upward from the corners of his lips. It’s the first time I’ve seen him smile, and damn, is it dangerous. I swallow and look away. “Although—even though I know that I shouldn’t have let you near my car, and you’re definitely not coming near it again, you don’t need to apologize. At the time, I really wanted you to jump-start my car.”

My phone buzzes. I glance down. A text from Iris. Think of a better euphemism. You’re not being subtle.

“Did you just say I’m not a professional?” he asks, leaning one-handed on the counter so that his thumb is bare inches away from my thigh. He’s close enough to count the goose pimples that appear on my skin.

“Definitely an amateur,” I smirk.

His hand inches closer. “Why don’t you call me next time your car needs some work done and I’ll show you more of what I’m capable of.”

Jen's Review
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

OK the storyline was a little childish - but totally worth it
Fiona really made the story worth reading

Fiona lived a really sheltered life - and that's putting it mildly - but once she was out on her own in college, she was ready to live life to the fullest - Her personality was hilarious - she jumped in head first with everything

Getting into the Alpha Pi Sorority was a big thing - but she didn't realize how big it was until she was in.

The James Games - James is a famous child actor who grew up. Many girls lusted after him with crazy obsessions. But James wasn't the type of guy to care about all that. He kept to himself and didn't want anything to do with anyone. But he had agreed to the James Games.

The Sorority sisters had many challenges in order to gain points to win a date with James. The only rule of the game was, No one is allowed to touch James...

Well that was rule was out of the book before the whole game started when she met up with the masked stranger for a quick wall bashing hot fling - it wasn't until after the Games were announced that her roommate showed her the picture and she put the two guys together... oops.

Being the Sorority class clown in a sense, Fiona didn't get off on the right foot with the seniors - and the one senior that had it in for her right from the start.

But Fiona made the best of the bad situations that were thrown at her. And with James popping up at each of the parties, they had a hard time keeping their hands to themselves.

Really a fun Laughing out Loud story that has you smiling the whole way though :)

Running from Destiny – Christa Lynn RELEASE DATE

Running from Destiny - Tour Banner

Running from Destiny
Christa Lynn
New cover final

Ally Sanders lives a normal, quiet life. She’s guarded and damaged, sweet, curvy and self deprecating. She doesn’t date much and likes that just fine, cause she doesn’t deserve love.
When arrogant media mogul, Jackson Bentley comes roaring in to her life, normal and quiet no longer exist, and those curves are what draws him to her.
But Jackson has secrets and relentlessly pursues Ally, determined to make her his.
When danger flashes in to Ally’s life, will she be able to get past the lies and anxiety, or will she run?
This novel includes sexual situations and sensitive subject matter.
This novel also includes a hero and heroine who will make you laugh, cry and want to smack them both.

New teaser 1

To celebrate ONE YEAR published, ‘Running from Destiny’ and ‘Accepting Destiny’ are on sale ****JUST 99 PENNIES**** http://smarturl.it/runningfromdestiny http://smarturl.it/acceptingdestiny

New teaser 2

About the Author : 
I am married and have a teenage son. I live in the Atlanta, GA area and I enjoy reading and writing. I went to bed one night after reading a book that wasn't very good and thought to myself, " I can do better than that." So the next morning I got up and started pounding away at the keyboard. My first book hides in the bowels of my laptop collecting dust. My first published novel, Running from Destiny, released in October of 2013. The sequel, Accepting Destiny just released in January 2014. Reprisal, which is a Dark Erotic thriller released in May of 2014.
Twitter: @authorclynn


Tour Host - Brenda

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Adrian Lessons by L.A Rose

Adrian Lessons

If there’s one thing Cleo Reynolds knows, it’s that she’s not into Adrian King.

The son of a model with the looks to prove it, the experienced author of her school newspaper’s sex advice column, the cocky playboy with a hint of darkness. That Adrian King.

Nope. Nuh-uh. No way.

The problem is, he’s very into her.

After accidentally flashing him, and slightly-less-accidentally-but-still-totally-unintentionally making out with him in front of the whole class, she expects to be called crazy. Instead, he asks her out.

Cleo’s determined not to end up as another notch on his bedpost. Except she hasn’t done…you know…it in a while. (Read: ever.) And as a girl who pays her tuition by writing all the sex scenes in her roommate’s bestselling romance series, the lack of inspiration has served up a fat slice of writer’s block.

Until her roommate proposes that Cleo and Adrian act out all the steamy scenes in her book.

It’s just research. No feelings involved.

Nope. Nuh-uh.

No way.

Hi there! I'm L.A Rose, a nature lover, romance addict, cat fan (of course). I love chatting, so feel free to email me anytime at larosebooks@gmail.com. Other links you might be interested in: Twitter Goodreads  Facebook (coming soon!) If you want to get up-to-date news on my books, as well as exclusive inside info and teachers, I suggest you subscribe to my newslette!

Buy it here

Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

LOVED it !!

This book was fun to read - I totally love Cleo’s sense of humor - she had me laughing a lot in this book -

Cleo’s roommate Maria writes erotic books , but she always freezes at the sex scenes - which is where Cleo comes in - she's a master at writing about sex - but when she develops writer's block and can't get the right sex scene on the computer scene, Maria has a great idea!

But that comes later - see Adrian just found Cleo - again - he had fallen in love with her in high school, but she didn't know who he was - when fate , or rather his roommate David brings them back together again, Adrian doesn't hesitate to make himself noticeable -

Not that being noticeable is difficult for Adrian - he's a Sex King all on his own. But when he sees Chloe, he only wants sex with her ..

Chloe doesn't want to be just a notch in his bedpost - but she can't help the attraction that is there. Her hilarious comments have you ROFLOL -

Just wish the ending didn't end with a "Dear reader" :)

My review doesn't give this book justice - sorry

I'm off to read James Games now :)

Monday, October 13, 2014

Love You Senseless Susan Mac Nicol

MoL_Love You Senseless_cover

Love You Senseless
Susan Mac Nicol

London’s saucy up-and-coming chef, Eddie Tripp has just the right recipe to drive tragedy from the mind of Gideon Kent—and leave him senseless with desire.
From Soho to Norwich, there’s no escaping love.
An award-winning chef with his own restaurant and an inexhaustible passion, Gideon Kent once had everything. Then came tragedy. It stole more than Gideon’s home. He hasn’t cooked since.
Until Eddie Tripp. Fun-loving and vivacious, the Norfolk redhead’s a real up-and-comer in Gideon’s kitchen—and other places. Slim where Gideon’s broad, easy-going where Gideon is growly, he and Gideon seem polar opposites, and yet Eddie conjures flavors that would tempt anyone with a taste for perfection. The sauce of love is already simmering, and this pair is about to dine on the most delicious dish they’ve ever prepared. Because Eddie’s been Gideon’s missing ingredient all along.

Looking after


He reached out and caught Eddie’s hand, holding it tightly and pulling him down onto the bed. Eddie hitched a breath as he plonked down and stared at him with wide eyes.
“Eddie, about what I said today. I’m sorry. I was out of line. It’s your business what you do with your job. I had no right to say those things to you.” His fingers slowly caressed the warm skin of Eddie’s palm. It felt so right.
Eddie exhaled a deep gust of warm air that caressed Gideon’s face. He supposed wryly that one of the benefits of not being able to smell anything was never having to experience anyone’s bad breath. Although he wagered a bet that Eddie’s breath was sweet, like his mouth would be.
Eddie shrugged. “It’s all right. You were pissed by what Andy said about you. He shouldn’t have really said that, that’s your personal business.” He watched as Gideon made slow circles on his palm with his thumb.
Gideon noticed his pupils were wide and dark. He chanced a long lingering caress up Eddie’s wrist and felt the shiver run through his body. His dick swelled in spite of the drink and he stared at Eddie’s mouth, visualising those pink full lips around him, driving him crazy and making him blow into the sweet, warm cavern that was Eddie’s mouth. Eddie was staring back at him, his chest heaving.
Despite his inebriated state, Gideon felt a sense of longing. His mouth ran away with him, his inhibitions at not wanting to get close to anyone disappearing like smoke.
“I wish I could smell you,” he whispered longingly. Eddie’s eyes darkened. “Smell your sweat and what makes you, you. Taste your skin.”
Eddie stood up swiftly. “You’re drunk and you don’t know what you’re saying,” he said roughly. “I should go. Get some sleep.” He turned to go.
Gideon sighed heavily as he closed his eyes. “It’s the only way they stop sometimes,” he whispered as his head swum. “The only way to forget what happened...” The world went black and he spiralled down thankfully into his darkness.

Elegant young red haired handsome man. Portrait of hadnsome young man with black t-shirt,

Susan Mac Nicol was born in Leeds, UK, and left for South Africa when she was eight. She returned to the UK thirty years later and now lives in Essex. Her debut novel Cassandra by Starlight, the first in a trilogy, was published earlier this year by Boroughs Publishing Group in the US. Sue’s latest story, Saving Alexander is her second m/m romance.
Sue has written since she was very young, and never thought she would see herself being a Romance writer, being a horror/psychological thriller reader all her life. But the Romance genre is now something very close to her heart and she intends continuing the trend.
Sue is a member of the Romance Writers of America and the Romantic Novelists Association here in the UK.
To learn more, visit Susan on her website and blog on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads and Pinterest.
Susan Mac Nicol is also author of The Magick of Christmas, Confounding Cupid, Cassandra by Starlight , Together in Starlight and the best-selling Stripped Bare.

Tour Host - Brenda

Friday, October 10, 2014

Distant Love Layla Merritt HAPPY RELEASE DAY!!


Distant Love
Layla Merritt


Kate Braxton has fallen into the role most women do by putting someone else’s needs above her own. In reality, she lives day to day unable to overcome the scars of her past to allow herself to move on with her life. Her divorce and a new job just might open the door to a brighter future for her. Brayden Bennett is sexy and successful in the marketing firm he works for, but has been used and discarded by women, leaving him hurt and guarded. The beautiful new hire in Atlanta captures his attention in ways he didn’t think possible and he can’t help but wonder if she holds the key to his caged heart. Kate is taking care of her ill father in Atlanta and Brayden’s son ties him to Chicago. Can they dare to dream of a future together? Can Kate survive the freak accidents that keep occurring, or will their relationship end in tragedy before they can figure out a way to be together?

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Six of Hearts by L.H. Cosway - Rave Review!

Six of Hearts

When famed illusionist Jay Fields walks into her father’s law practice, Matilda Brandon has a hard time keeping her heart from pounding. With a non-existent love life, she wonders if she could ever have a chance with a man this sexy and charismatic. She knows she’ll never meet someone like him on her online dating site, that’s for sure.

Jay wants to sue a newspaper, however, he leaves with a new landlord and a rather smitten housemate instead. As the two form a bond, Matilda finds herself becoming a part of Jay’s crazy world of illusion and mentalism, where underground magic shows, casino gambling and secret vendettas abound.

Jay has a dark history, and Matilda isn’t sure if she should open herself up to such an enigma of a man. Is he really who he claims to be? And why does he keep so many secrets?

She doesn’t know it yet, but they share a common past. Jay has set a plan in motion and whether she likes it or not, claiming her heart has always been his ultimate goal.


Step right up and meet Jay Fields: Illusionist. Mentalist. Trickster.

I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.

I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.

Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.

But most of all, I put on a good show.

The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.

Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.

She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this – if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.

So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.

You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.

I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.

So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.

L.H. Cosway
L.H. Cosway
L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favourite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

She thinks that imperfect people are the most interesting kind. They tell the best stories.


Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Totally in love with this book! Defiantly one of my new favorites! I remember reading Painted Faces from this author, and loved that one - now I'm going to get a few more of her books:)

I don't know what it was about this book, but it just really grabbed me - maybe it was the magic - I love Illusionist TV shows and have always been in Awe by their talent - but I think it was probably more than that.

Jay ... what do you say about him? he's had a hard life - really, but he made something from himself, and always has a smile on his face - he's a great guy with a positive outlook, and he just has a great way of looking at things - even the shady stuff, he has good reasons for it - you can't help but love him even from the beginning when he's hiding out in the shed ready to pounce on his dad if he so much as starts in with his mom and brother

And Matilda - the girl next door - sure she was only 9 at the time, but even then she played a big part in Jay's life - and he's back and ready to do something about it .

Matilda is going through life in a comfort zone - she's not happy, but she's not sad - she's shy, but she's friendly and caring. She loves her dad and her dad loves her, and that's all she needs.
When Jay walks into the Lawyers offices asking for her dad to take his case, she felt the familiarity with him, but didn't know how much of it was him being on TV or not -
Her dad couldn't take his case - there was no way his small town office could take on a huge case against a whole newspaper agency. But Jay knew who the right man for the job was, and he wouldn't have it any other way.

Things with Matilda and Jay become stronger as time goes on. Jay tries to keep his distance, but Matilda wants more of him. When Jay finally caves in to his desires to her, things start to get better. But he knew it wasn't their time yet. They couldn't fully be together until after his big show came to an end.

The whole significates about 6 of hearts is really and truly sweet -

Favorite quote :
"So why not live with the magic? Be a kid again and believe in the fantastical. Life is more fun with a little smoke and mirrors."

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Promise Me This by Christina Lee - Review - Relese day

Promise Me This (Between Breaths, #4)

A new love will test the boundaries of passion between a privileged boy next door and the tattooed, blue-haired girl who helps him embrace his wild side...

Nate has developed quite a playboy reputation around campus. It's not that he doesn't respect or trust women; he doesn't trust himself. The men in Nate’s family are prone to abusive behavior—a dirty secret that Nate’s been running from his entire life—so Nate doesn't do relationships. But he can’t help himself around one girl…

Jessie is strong, independent, and works at a tattoo parlor. Nate can’t resist getting close to her, even if it’s strictly a friendship. But it doesn't take long for Nate to admit that what he wants with Jessie is more than just friendly.

With Jessie, he can be himself and explore what he’s always felt was a terrifying darkness inside him. Even when Nate begins to crave her in a way that both shocks and horrifies him, Jessie still wants to know every part of him. Testing their boundaries together will take a trust that could render them inseparable… or tear them apart

Picture Teaser

Christina  Lee

Once upon a time, I lived in New York City and was a fashion stylist. I spent my days shopping for photo shoots, getting into cabs, eating amazing food, and drinking coffee at my favorite hangouts.

Now I live in the Midwest with my husband and son—my two favorite guys. I’ve always been an avid reader—reading was actually my favorite time of day when I taught second and third grade

But it wasn’t until I became a local newspaper columnist that something clicked. I finally realized I could turn my love of words into my dream of writing fiction.

I write Adult and New Adult steamy contemporary romance. I am represented by Sara Megibow of the Nelson Literary Agency.

I also own a hand-stamped jewelry business called Tags-n-Stones, which requires me to stamp letters and/or words onto pieces of silver. They go hand-in-hand perfectly.

Find it here: Goodreads***Amazon***Barnes&Noble***iBooks***Google Books


Jen's Review
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn't realize this was book #4 when I requested it on Netgalley - So I'm going to go back to read the first 3 books after this -

I really loved this story - Jesse works in a tattoo shop - she's covered in tatoos, blue hair and punk clothes - but she couldn't be anything but who she is - a really sweet and caring girl. Anyone would be lucky to be her friend. But Jesse has a strong personality and doesn't take crap from anyone.

Nate is a sweet guy - he's had a hard life growing up and is afraid of becoming like the one nightmare he's lived with his whole life - his dad. And now his brother is starting to show signs that anger is heriditary. Nate does everything in his power to prove that he's not going to cave into his emotions. By taking girl after girl, never getting close enough, he finds himself lost in the pleasure, but never treuly feeling free.

When Jesse gets a photo assignment at school, she asks Nate to go with her to take some pictures since he knows some great spots -
Their friendship has been a good one - Jesse is Nate's safe girl. He's nothing like her type and they have a good easy friendship where they can easily handle each other.

But when Jesse accidently walks in on Nate and another girl, she notices he has another side to him that she craves.

Out of town, when Jesse gets a flat tire, they end up needing to stay the night in a hotel. Their friendship changes that night and Nate isn't sure it's for the better.
There is something about Jesse that makes him feel free, and the hard thing for Nate to accecpt, is she's ASKING him to let himself go and take what he wants.
The ONE thing Nate is terrified of doing with someone else.

I really enjoyed this book - these two are not perfect, but are perfect for each other :)

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Beyond Repair by Charlotte Stein - Review

Beyond Repair

When Alice Evans finds a bona fide movie star on the floor of her living room, she has no idea what to do. Ordinary men are frightening enough, never mind someone as famous and frankly gorgeous as Holden Stark.

However, once she realizes that Holden is suffering behind that famous facade, she knows she has to help. He needs someone like her to give him a taste of sweetness and desire and love. He needs normality. The only problem is—Alice is hiding a secret that is far from normal. In fact, her name isn’t even Alice at all.

And once Holden finds out, the intense connection they are just beginning to build may well be torn apart

“Can you blame me? Your face is what magic would look like, if it were real. Harry Potter could probably use your jaw to destroy Voldemort.”

“Just ignore my voice. There’s a frightened nun living in my throat.”

“Is it weird if I find that weird?” “I think it’d be weird if you didn’t. I’m some stranger, soaking himself in your bathtub while you’re passed out on the bed. Sounds like the start of a horrible Lifetime movie about a crazed hobo.”

“Well, okay. Maybe not perfectly normal. You know in that movie Shame when he’s wandering around with it dangling away and everyone did a collective gasp? It’s kind of like that. I have a lot of excessive dangle. And you just can’t show excessive dangle in a romantic drama. Arthouse only, for sudden shocking penis.”

“I swear, I only do that if you don’t put the lotion on your skin.” She paused, pretending to consider. “Or is that when you get the hose again?”

"I swear you could stroke my toe with your elbow and I'd go f%ing nuts."

"He was on her like men in movies were on women they hadn't seen for eight thousand years. She actually saw him in slow motion as he rounded the corner... Then finally his hands reaching for her face. He was going to hold her face in his hands as he kissed her.

Charlotte Stein
Charlotte Stein is the acclaimed author of over thirty short stories, novellas and novels, including the recently DABWAHA nominated Run To You. When not writing deeply emotional and intensely sexy books, she can be found eating jelly turtles, watching terrible sitcoms and occasionally lusting after hunks. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and their now totally real and completely nightmarish dog.

Charlotte is the author of over thirty sexy novels, novellas, and short stories. She writes both contemporary and science fiction romance and erotica, as well as both male/female and menage works.

Find Beyong Repair on: 
amazon-logo  barnes__noble_logo Download_on_iBooks_Badge_US-UK_110x40_090513kobo


“One of the biggest lies out there is the one that says you have to be whole to be loved—that if you’re not it’s a miracle anyone would. But my love for you is not some flimsy miracle based on whether you’re okay or not. Love is something you deserve. More than anything,...you deserve love. You deserve it so much I sometimes ache to give it to you.”

Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
ARC provided by NetGalley

I don't want this story to be over - I want more of Alice and Bernie!!!

Throughout the whole book, you're thinking one thing, then another, but everything just totally shocks you at the end - wow!

Alice wakes up to find a strange man on her floor, in her house ... Not just any strange man, but Holden Freakin' Stark! A famous actor whom she knows very well on screen.

At first she didn't know what to do - once she thought through her own fears, she discovered that he wasn't going to be waking up anytime soon.

Struggling with her own demons, she gets him to the bathroom and turns on the shower - lol and you get to see HOW she does it. Not just by flicking the screen from her living room to the bathroom. But she makes sure you know she is a 5.5 girl and he is a 6.4 strong man - lol

When Holden wakes with a start from the icy water, he doesn't know why, but he seems to be ok with where he is.

These two have a great chemistry. Not just physical chemistry pulling them together, but their friendly barter is hilarious.

Holden, aka Bernie is attracted to Alice - not because of her looks, but because she treats him like a regular person. He knows she knows who he is, but she still won’t look at him with eyes of a Fan. She can see him inside and out and know when he needs a hug, or when he needs to change the subject or when he's feeling down. And to him, that is everything he wants from a woman. Someone who cares if he's alive because she generally cares about him, not his next paycheck or appearance that he's supposed to do..

But Alice isn't who she appears to be. she is holding herself back. It's been years since she's been around anyone, let alone a man that makes her feel things that are foreign to her. She's afraid to let him see the real her. the part of her that shy’s away from every look and touch he gives her.

The story is really touching - the fear she has is real, and for the longest time, you can't fully understand her fear until you know what she's going through.

I really enjoyed this book - because it was about a famous actor wanting to be a regular guy, and a regular girl wanting to hide from herself and everyone around her. The way these two connect is just sweet and innocent. And Holden/Bernie is just a great guy. He sees that she's afraid of something, and he sees that she's a lot more innocent, just from the little things she does, and she's blown away by the feelings she finds herself having.

Really hot steamy scenes are so innocent, but they are anything but :)

really wish the story didn't end there. It would be exciting to see how their HEA plans out :)

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Home is Where You Are by Tessa Marie - Release Day - Review

Home is Where You Are

Anna’s life reads like a check list.
Straight A’s (Check)
Editor of the school paper (Check)
Volunteering time at the local soup kitchen (Check)
Ivy League (So close she can taste it)
Falling in love with a homeless boy (Not on the list)

Dean has a plan too. Survive. After being subjected to his foster father’s violent attacks, Dean made the hard choice to leave. Now he lives on the streets doing everything he can to get by, refusing to let people help him. But when he meets Anna, he realizes not everyone is out to hurt him.

Slowly, Anna and Dean let each other in, blending their two worlds into one. But when a series of events brings Dean’s world into perspective, he pushes Anna away. Not willing to accept the line that divides them, Anna sets out to bring Dean back to her. Her determination and faith in their future puts her on the tracks of danger, and he is the only one who can save her.

Photo: Teaser Time! 6 days left!!

Photo: Teaser Time! 9 more days!

Jen's Review
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

LOVE this book!!!
It's such a sweet story to read both POV's - learning about the good and bad parts of living life on the streets -

Dean is a sweetheart - 10 years ago, his parents died, and he and his sister were shoved into foster care. But they got separated. After many years of trying to find her, he's slowing giving up. Just trying to survive is hard enough. But if he lets her go, he has nothing else to live for.

Anna's life is a mess - her dad passed away a few years ago, and her mom checked out - well checked into her work and hardly was around long enough to pay attention. Her older brother went off to college without looking back , she couldn't feel more alone.

But life for Anna is strict - getting a 4.0 average and getting into Ivy College is the only thing she has going for her. But her grades aren't enough. Ivy colleges look for things outside of school as well. Volunteering takes up any time she's not studying, so what's left?

By chance Anna runs into Dean a few times - he doesn't look like a homeless guy at all. Clean clothes, clean hair, only a few bruises that seem to add a little sadness to his face.

But something keeps drawing him to her. When she's able to talk to him, even though she asks him a million questions, Dean finds it a little refreshing. Sure he doesn't want to talk about himself, but he finds it funny when she gets upset with his silence.

These two both have one thing in common, they're lonely and find that being around each other brings them both happiness. Anna doesn't Pity Dean - and Dean doesn't feel like Anna has more than he does. Just because she's fortunate to have a warm bed to sleep in every night..

But when reality hits Dean and he realizes that he's just holding her back from happiness, that he can't give her what she deserves in her life, he does what he does best...

Really REALLY cute story - It has a great message that will probably help my daughter in her teenage years, so I'm anxious for her to read it :)
Photo: Teaser Time! 7 more days!