Friday, July 7, 2017

Rebel Custody (The Demon Horde Motorcycle Club Series) by Sarah Hawthorne

Rebel Custody (The Demon Horde Motorcycle Club Series) by [Hawthorne, Sarah]


AMAZON (only $3.99 for Kindle) 

Rebel Custody (The Demon Horde Motorcycle Club Series) 

by Sarah Hawthorne 



A son in danger 
The Demon Horde MC are no strangers to breaking the rules, but making a man pay to get his son back crosses one too many lines for Skeeter. He'll do anything, including play by the book, if it means bringing his son home. Hiring straitlaced attorney Miriam Englestein is meant to solve his problems, not create new ones. One look at her and his good-guy facade goes out the window. He wants to throw his buttoned-up lawyer onto the back of his bike and make her his.  
A woman at risk 
Miri wants nothing to do with the club. Her father may be in their pocket, but she's on the right side of the law and she intends to stay there. But there's something about Skeeter's plea—something about him—she can't walk away from. While she's tempted to let him do unspeakably wicked and delicious things to her, she can't risk her law practice, or her heart. 
A dangerous deception  
When Miriam agrees to pose as Skeeter's woman to get details they need for the case, things heat up fast—and it's not long before the lines between business and personal blur, and they're both in over their heads. In the MC world, lies have a way of coming back to you, and they put everyone at risk.  
This book is approximately 60,000 words 


Jen's Review 4 Stars 

Really cute story :) 
Mari is a family lawyer with her dad's firm - he is one of the top lawyers who specialize in the MC club - Something Mari doesn't ever want to get involved with. That's why she chose Family law - 

Juan-Luc is your everyday biker - but he doesn't push the law unless it's meant to be. 
When he gets blackmailed and finds out he has a 9-year-old son all at the same time. He tries to do the right thing. 
 He gets Mari's name from her dad - They talk and go over the details they need in order to get custody for his son before the blackmailer catches wind and takes off with his kid . 

The story is kind of fluffy - Juan-Luc opens his mouth and nothing right ever comes out of it. He's always saying the wrong thing first, then realizes it after it's already too late. 
Mari is a straight-laced lawyer. She takes Juan-Luc's case because it's the right thing to do. But she doesn't realize the hard biker is really a sweet guy who wants his son. 

Can the law really be more than black and white? Is it really okay to take the law into your own hands because it's the right thing to do?? 

I got this book from Netgally for an honest review :) 

Image result for rebel custody sarah hawthorne

Thursday, July 6, 2017

The Banker (Modern Love Book 3) by Piper Rayne

The Banker (Modern Love Book 3) by [Rayne, Piper]


AMAZON (free on kindle unlimited) 


The Banker (Modern Love Book 3) 

by Piper Rayne 


From a secret duo of USA Today Bestselling Authors, comes the third COMPLETE STANDALONE in the Modern Love Series.

Who knew my brother’s friend could be Mr. Right, and not just Mr. Right Now?

My brother refused to introduce me, so I blame him. If he’d just caved, and introduced me to Jasper, I wouldn’t be in this mess. I mean, really, what’s the big deal? I’m not interested in the guy’s looks.

Oh no, I want his cold hard cash. (Be honest, you were expecting that other four letter ‘c’ word weren’t you?)

Now, before you go getting all judgy, I’m not a gold digger. I have a legitimate business opportunity for Jasper to invest in. The problem is that my stick-up-his-ass brother is embarrassed that his twin sister invents kick ass sex toys. His problem, not mine.

So, I took matters into my own hands. Defeat isn’t a word in Lennon Hart’s dictionary.

Using my stealthy P.I. moves, I narrowed my search to a time and place where I knew I could find him. It was completely innocent. A chance meeting that would give me the opportunity to pitch my business.

It wasn’t until I sat down across from the gorgeous panty soaking man in front of me, that I realized I wanted so much more than just his money. I could very well want his heart if I wasn’t careful.

Apparently my P.I. skills aren’t as stellar as I thought because Jasper had his own secret—and it changed EVERYTHING.

Note To Readers: The Banker concludes the Modern Love series. Each book can be read as a standalone.




Jen's Review 5 Stars 

I almost decided against 5 stars, but only because I feel this book left me wanting more, a little too much :) 
It didn't feel like it was complete. The whole thing with her brother, her business and their HEA seemed to be rushed at the ending. 

BUT I truly did love this book! My heart invested in this story a little too much - can't remember the last time I cried so hard. 
Throw in a kid in a story and all bets are off - this story really tugs at your heartstrings. 

If you've read the first 2 books in this story, you already know how strong willed and easy going Lennon is. If you haven't read the first two books, that's ok - because you can see her character coming to life in the beginning. 

When she goes to her family meeting, she gets picked on - having 3 brothers, I'm sure she's used to that, but then her mom chimes in, and you start to feel bad for her. Not in a pity way - because Lennon is a strong girl. She believes in herself wholly, and doesn't let anyone keep her down.  But you start to see her as the girl who is different than everyone around her, and she accepts that about herself. 

Jasper Banks - well everyone seems to have him pegged wrong. They all tell her he's a tough nut to crack. He's wholesome and doesn't give a crap about some lowly girl who wants to make it big by producing sex products. 
But Jasper isn't a bad guy at all. He is strong willed with his business and doesn't take crap in his personal life. He's over protective and actually a really big sweetheart. 

Really a cute story - sad it ended the series for me. I was really enjoying this group of people :) 

Image result for The Banker by Piper R


Wednesday, July 5, 2017

The Boxer (Modern Love Book 2) by PIper Rayne

The Boxer (Modern Love Book 2) by [Rayne, PIper]

AMAZON (Free on Kindle Unlimited)


The Boxer (Modern Love Book 2) by PIper Rayne (Author)


From a secret duo of USA Today Bestselling Authors, comes the second COMPLETE STANDALONE in the Modern Love Series.

Who knew a bad boy could mend a broken heart?

What does a girl do after she discovers her fiancé is a cheating bastard?

In my case, I performed the ritual implosion of all scorned women. I drowned my sorrows in cases of white wine, wallowed in gallons of ice cream, and ignited a bonfire to burn away every damn remnant of his existence. Six months later, the only result was a permanent impression of my ass on the couch.

Adventure Dating my friends dared.
A new and exciting opportunity they said.

I thought they were crazy, but I’m not one to back down from a challenge, so I signed up for the entire four-week deal.
That’s where I saw HIM. Lucas Cummings. He isn’t the classic rich boy I usually end up with. The one whose idea of working up a sweat is waiting for his margarita to be served beachside. Nope. He’s a rough and tough bad boy that all fathers warn their daughters about. You know the type. Cocky swagger, chiseled jaw—the ‘V’.

SOLD, I said to myself, until I discovered he was so much more than just a BOXER.

Left Hook.
Right to the heart.

This is a Sexy Romantic Comedy standalone book in The Modern Love World. You do not need to read book one, The Bartender, in order to read The Boxer.


Jen's Review 4.5 Stars

Another great story! 
I really loved this one! Although the cover picture doesn't look anything like I've pictured Lucas in my head - I'm still in love with him :) 

Lucas is a total stand up guy - sweet, sensitive, fun and loving - protects everyone around him, and he's a boxer :) 

Thila is a hard working, OCD fun loving girl who is nursing her broken heart - 6 months after she broke off the engagement with Chase, Lannon, and Whitney are sick and tired of her moping around. 
Sometimes all it takes is a little tough love - and no one is better at it than Lannon.

They dragged her out of the house to meet up with Cole, and give Thila another chance to get laid. It's the only way to get over Chase. 

Only Thila didn't know what to think about meeting someone at a fight club! 

Their meeting was cute - and a fun way to meet the guy you're going to hook up with at the end of the night. But when Lannon starts feeding Thila Everclear - the night turns sour quickly 


Related image

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

The Bartender (Modern Love Book 1) by Piper Rayne

The Bartender (Modern Love Book 1) by [Rayne, Piper]


Amazon - (Free on Kindle Unlimited)

The Bartender (Modern Love Book 1) 

by Piper Rayne 


From a secret duo of USA Today Bestselling Authors, comes the first COMPLETE STANDALONE in the Modern Love Series.

Who knew sleeping with the enemy could be this fun?

Was the one night stand a good idea?

Well, no. Probably not in retrospect.

In my defense I had just moved back into my grandparent’s house, I’d lost my dream job, and a guy on Tinder had stood me up. It was like life had suddenly stamped ‘LOSER’ on my forehead.

So when the guy behind the bar started giving me THE look…you know, the one that promised I’d be screaming his name into the wee hours of the morning? When that guy also has the perfect amount of scruff on his chiseled chin, biceps bulging out of his t-shirt, and a cocky grin you knew he’d earned in the sack…when he gives you that look, you don’t bother to figure out what your six degrees of separation are. You jump on that horse and ride it!

Pun fully and completely intended. And accurate by the way.

I fully admit to feeling sorry for myself and acting impulsively, but by the time I’d figured out WHO the bartender was, I was already falling for him.

A Sexy Romantic Comedy Standalone.



Jen's Review 4.5 Stars! 

Loved this story!! And boy did it leave you anxious to read the next story!! No Cliffhanger - but it does leave you wanting to know what else is going to happen with Tahlia's story :) 

Anyways - this was a cute story - had an "aww" expiring ending too :) wasn't prepared for that - but it all makes sense and therefore - they get their HEA :) 

Poor Whitney has it rough - screw with your boss and you lose your job - she knew this - but it happened anyways - and now she finds herself back in her hometown living with her grandparents because she can't afford rent anywhere in California. 
The upside is having her best friends back in her life :) 

The downside, she can't find a job - and she's getting desperate. Finding herself alone at a bar, drinking her sorrows away, she gets on her phone and finds someone on Tinder to hook up with... but while she's waiting for her hookup to show up, the bartenders switch, and all of a sudden, she doesn't want her Tinder guy to show up! 

Cole is everything every woman dreams about - but the more she drinks, the harder it is for her to focus. 

When she wakes up the next morning in Cole's bed, she has no idea what happened. And that terrifies her. But the good thing about a one night stand is she doesn't have to see him again. 

You'd think it was that easy, but when she finds out who Cole really is...... yeah, things get complicated quickly :) 


Monday, July 3, 2017

The Club Series by Lauren Rowe

Image result for The Club by Lauren Rowe


Amazon (free on Kindle Unlimited)

The Club Series by Lauren Rowe

Image result for The Club by Lauren Rowe
Jonas and Sarah's story  

When playboy businessman Jonas Faraday receives a private note from the anonymous intake agent assigned to process his online application to an exclusive club, he becomes obsessed with finding her and giving her the satisfaction she claims has always eluded her.

Sarah : "When I read Jonas Faraday’s brutally honest personal message on his application to The Club, I practically climaxed at my desk. I’m an idiot to risk losing my job but I couldn't resist contacting him. I knew my confession would be like dangling an irresistible carrot in front of his nose—but never in a million years did I think he’d actually hunt me down."

Jonas :"I was shocked to get my intake agent’s email—I’d attached that note to my application on a whim, never expecting a reply from an actual person, let alone a reply as mind blowing as that. Her message was so alluring, so irresistible, I’ve been spiraling into a full-blown obsession ever since I got it. What’s her name? What does she look like? Finding her is my top priority."

In The Club, what starts out as an innocent exploration of attraction quickly spirals into a steamy story of unbridled passion, obsession, heartbreak, and, ultimately, redemption. 

**Contains graphic adult content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+ 


Image result for The Infatuation by Lauren Rowe
 Josh and Kat's Story - 

Josh Faraday is used to getting what he wants. And what he wants is her.

The Playboy and The Party Girl - Josh and Kat from the bestselling The Club series, tell their love story in a scorching new trilogy: The Infatuation, The Revelation, and The Consummation. Whoever said love is patient and kind has never met hell-on-wheels, Kat Morgan. 

In the Infatuation, Josh Faraday meets Kat Morgan for the first time . . . and his life will never be the same. Want to know what Josh and Kat were doing while the "Ocean's Eleven" crew were in Las Vegas to "save the world"? Well, in THE INFATUATION you'll find out. And it will blow . . . your . . . mind.

Readers are advised to read the prior bestselling books of The Club Series in order before reading Josh and Kat's books (Books 5-7).


Find out why readers have made The Club a USA Today, Amazon #1 and International #1 bestseller.

*Readers 18+ due to extremely graphic language and adult situations.

Readers should start the adventure with book 1 of the series (The Club) and read in order. 








Jen's Review 5 Stars for the series! 

I couldn't stop after the first book - the second book, or even the 3rd book - The Author recommended reading in the order 123-567 and back to 4 since it was placed 3 years into the future - I have to agree. If I read book 4 before book 5, I probably wouldn't have WANTED to read the rest of the series - I loved every bit of Josh and Kat's stories - and book 4 would have taken away some of those fun surprises and inside jokes that book 4 mentions.

So in my opinion, read book 4 last :) Followed by Captain and Ball Peen Hammer (or read those two first, because they're stand alone books :) )


I don't want to give anything away - It's hard to say which couple I loved more.

Jonas and Sarah had a wild and exotic story - Jonas is into philosophy - he pretty much lives by the wise words of  Plato - along with a few others - but Plato is his main man :)
Their story is about learning to conqure your fears and all that.
The story has a lot of ups and downs, good times and bad. but watching these two grow, makes it really sweet and fun to read :)

Now Kat and Josh! Lol Their stories are a bit more..... sexual - adventurous - fun and creative. But they do their fair share of growing too - their love conqures a lot - it was a big adventure reading their stories.

When you get to book 4 (after reading 5-7) you're 3 years into the future - if you haven't read 5-7 , you don't know Josh and Kat's story - but you know all about Sarah and Joans - this story was a bit more ..... emotional for the characters - When Sarah is pregnant with twins, Jonas learns the hard way that loveing someone is like breathing. not sure that's the right mediphore for this story - but I'll stick with it.

All and all, I have to say I really truely loved every single book from this series - 4  books from Jonas and Sarah and 3 books of Josh and Kat - then PLEASE don't foreget Captain and Ball Peen Hammer - because Sarah, Josh, Jonas and Kat - along with Reed and everyone else from this series show up in those two books

I' anxious to find out if the author is going to continue with Dax's story - maybe Colby's too?



Saturday, July 1, 2017

AFTER THE KISS by Lauren Layne


She needed him for a story. He needed her for a bet. 
Wanting each other? Not part of the plan.


AFTER THE KISS
Sex, Love & Stiletto #1
Lauren Layne
Loveswept


Lauren Layne kicks off her Sex, Love & Stiletto series with a delightful short novel! In After the Kiss, the star columnist of Stiletto magazine will do anything for a story. Anything . . . except fall in love.

Julie Greene loves flings. Loves steamy first dates, sizzling first kisses, and every now and then, that first sexy romp between the sheets. Comfy pants, sleepy Sundays, movie nights on the couch? Shudder. But when Julie gets assigned the hardest story of her career—a first-person account of that magical shift between dating and “I do”—she’ll need a man brave enough to give a total commitment-phobe a chance at more.

Normally, Mitchell Forbes would be exactly that man. A devastatingly hot workaholic who tends to stay in relationships for far too long, he should be the perfect subject for Julie’s “research.” But what Julie doesn’t know is that Mitchell is looking to cut loose for once in his life. And the leggy journalist notorious for avoiding love is exactly the type of no-strings fling he’s looking for. In other words, Mitchell is the polar opposite of what Julie needs right now. And, at the same time, he’s exactly what she wants.



$0.99 for Limited Time





Lauren Layne is the New York Times bestselling author of over a dozen romantic comedies.

A former e-commerce and web marketing manager from Seattle, Lauren relocated to New York City in 2011 to pursue a full-time writing career.

She lives in midtown Manhattan with her high-school sweetheart, where she writes smart romantic comedies with just enough sexy-times to make your mother blush. In LL's ideal world, every stiletto-wearing, Kate Spade wielding woman would carry a Kindle stocked with Lauren Layne books. 



Thursday, June 22, 2017

Book Blitz Don't Look Back by Vicki Tharp


Don’t Look Back
Vicki Tharp
Publication date: November 19th 2011
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense
Ridley Meyer’s latest murder left him unsatisfied, but the spitfire with the U-haul may provide just the challenge he craves.
Veterinarian Audrey West is running out of time, yet she is determined to keep her inherited home out of foreclosure. With no more than a dream, a prayer, and a packed U-Haul, West moves back home to complete the expensive repairs. Just when Audrey thinks she might pull off the impossible, she finds her dream is not the only thing being followed.
Scott Romero has it all—money, ambition and a growing reputation as the city’s top veterinary surgeon. However, when his best friend Audrey is abducted by a killer, Scott realizes what he doesn’t have and he must risk losing his job, and his life, to save her.
Don’t Look Back was a 2007 Romantic Suspense finalist in the Romance Writer’s of America Golden Heart writing contest.
EXCERPT:
He leaned in to scrutinize his work. “Let me see.”
She turned toward him.
He pushed her hand out of the way. He poked. He prodded. He pressed. “I did Doctor Frankenstein proud. Maybe my stepmother was right. I should’ve been a real doctor. At least I wouldn’t have risked my veterinary license stitching you up.”
“I don’t—”
“I know. I know. You don’t like hospitals.”
“It’ll take more than a little thump to get me in one again.”
“Little thumps don’t require stitches. Little thumps don’t give you a concussion. And little thumps don’t get you almost killed.”
“Not this again.”
“Yes. This again.”
He raised his hands and took a step back. “Do me a favor.”
“What’s that?”
“The next time one of your clients waves a gun around, stay out of the way.”
“What in the purple hell did you expect me to do? Let her kill herself?”
“You should’ve gone for help.”
“Ms. Sims wasn’t trying to hurt me. Her dog, her baby, dropped dead. She was distraught, disturbed. If I hadn’t nosedived into the bench grabbing for the gun, I doubt
I’d’ve had a scratch on me.” Audrey squeezed her head to keep it from exploding.
“You’re not Superwoman. Bullets won’t bounce off you.”
She didn’t have the energy for this. “Finished?”
“Not hardly.” Scott tilted his head and gave her that sexy half-smile. That devilish smile. That maddening smile the lucky few had followed to his bed.
It was too painful to think about, and not just because of her headache, so she pushed it from her mind. “Thanks for letting me crash at your place last night. And for stitching me up.”
She’d stuffed everything she owned into her truck and U-Haul trailer. That wasn’t saying much since the truck and trailer were small.
“Staying at a hotel by yourself with a concussion wasn’t and option. As for the other, I don’t know how you talked me into it. You’ll probably have a scar.”
“Not a problem as long as your malpractice is paid.”
A laugh rumbled his chest, but the smile quickly slid from his lips. “You should stay a day or two. Make sure you’re really okay.”
Audrey scooched back and propped herself up against the leather headboard. Her brain protested behind the fireworks and the nine-piece drumline. “I’ve only got thirty days to finish the repairs on my uncle’s house. I have to leave today. I’ll call you from the road, let you know I haven’t bled out into my head.”
“Not funny.” Scott frowned but kept her gaze. “I’m due at the animal hospital at seven. I’m going to miss having you around. Guess I can’t talk you into staying for good, huh?”
“What?” Her voice jumped two octaves. “Who’s the one who stood in my kitchen two weeks ago and told me I should go? ‘This is your last chance to make good on your promise to your uncle,’ you said. ‘Take a chance on your dream,’ you said. Don’t even—”
“Down, girl.” Scott eased her back into the pillows with a hand on her shoulder.
Thank God. Hells-bells clanged in her head.
“Forget I said anything. At least sleep for a few more hours and then head out. You don’t look so hot.”
No kidding.
He patted her leg and by the way he didn’t get up to leave, she knew he wanted to say more, but he wasn’t any better at goodbyes than she was. Then Scott braced his hands on either side of her head, and planted a quick kiss on her nose. Like an adult to a child.
It might have hurt less if he’d eviscerated her with a spork.
She was leaving Texas. This morning. For good.
She snagged his tie. “If that’s the best you can do, Romero, it’s no wonder your girlfriends leave you.”
Why had she baited him? He couldn’t refuse a challenge, any more than a dachshund could refuse table scraps.
Was her mind muddled from the concussion? Or was she finally thinking clearly? One kiss. That’s all she wanted.
Like a lover, not a friend. Stupid. He’d locked her in the friend-zone years ago.
Except for the night of her high school graduation.
And two weeks ago when he’d convinced her she should leave.
The look in his eyes was the same now as then. Want, need, hunger.
Hand over hand she pulled him down. His lips brushed hers. Her breath caught. She blamed the
concussion. Her hands trembled. She blamed the pain. Her heart hurt. She blamed herself.
She wrapped her arms around his neck, deepened the kiss, tasted the coffee on his tongue, smelled the subtle tang of surgical scrub that never quite left his skin. She tilted her head, and he nipped her lips, traced the line of her jaw and down to her pounding pulse at the base of her neck. She guided him on top of her, his weight braced on his arms, but she drew him down until his full weight pinned her.
She floated.
No fears, no worries, no will power.
No wondering if she should stop or if she could stop – because she didn’t want to stop.


Author Bio:
Born with a love for animals, author Vicki Tharp pursued a career as a veterinarian, graduating from the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine in 1992. Always an avid reader of mystery and suspense, she combined her interests into her first book entitled "Don't Look Back".
She makes her home in south Texas with her husband, two children and pets too numerous to mention.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

The Club (The Club Series Book 1) by Lauren Rowe

The Club (The Club Series Book 1) by [Rowe, Lauren]

AMAZON (Free on Kindle Unlimited) 

The Club (The Club Series Book 1) by Lauren Rowe 

BOOK ONE of The Club Series by USA Today and Internationally bestselling author, Lauren Rowe.

Get ready to delve into the fantastically romantic world of The Club Series. These books combine wit and passion perfectly to keep you enthralled every step of the way. The best part? The Club is merely the beginning, as you will have six more incredible novels to anticipate while you are engaged with this one.

When playboy businessman Jonas Faraday receives a private note from the anonymous intake agent assigned to process his online application to an exclusive club, he becomes obsessed with finding her and giving her the satisfaction she claims has always eluded her.

Sarah : "When I read Jonas Faraday’s brutally honest personal message on his application to The Club, I practically climaxed at my desk. I’m an idiot to risk losing my job but I couldn't resist contacting him. I knew my confession would be like dangling an irresistible carrot in front of his nose—but never in a million years did I think he’d actually hunt me down."

Jonas :"I was shocked to get my intake agent’s email—I’d attached that note to my application on a whim, never expecting a reply from an actual person, let alone a reply as mind blowing as that. Her message was so alluring, so irresistible, I’ve been spiraling into a full-blown obsession ever since I got it. What’s her name? What does she look like? Finding her is my top priority."

In The Club, what starts out as an innocent exploration of attraction quickly spirals into a steamy story of unbridled passion, obsession, heartbreak, and, ultimately, redemption. 

**Contains graphic adult content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+ 

The Club is the USA Today, Amazon #1 and Internationally #1 best-selling first book of The Club Series. 

THE CLUB SERIES IS:
7 Books.
2 Brothers.
2 Epic and Intertwining Love Stories.

"One of my favorite series, ever." "Addicting." "Hot." "Hilarious." "Romantic." "Emotional." "Gripping." "Sexy." "I want to have the Faradays brothers' babies."

The first four books of the series chronicle the epic love story of Jonas and Sarah. Books 5-7 chronicle the story of Josh (Jonas' brother) and Kat (Sarah's best friend). The books of THE CLUB SERIES must be read in order.



Stalk Lauren Rowe here:
Twitter https://twitter.com/laurenrowebooks
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/laurenrowebooks/
Instagram @laurenrowebooksAmazon page for a listing of her books.


Jen's Review 4 Stars

Ok This book is the first of the series - I've already read books 7 and 8 - so I'm going back to the beginning and seeing how it all plays out :)

The start of this book was a bit much - Like pretty much all it talks about is Jonas's "God Like Complexion" and his ability to get any woman he wants -
Then there's Sarah - the girl who's missing her big "O"  Ok not really missing it , since you can't miss something you never had, right??

I was worried about this story - the whole thing seemed focused on those two things - and it threw me off after reading the other stories - but I kept reading because I knew there was more to it....

And I was right :) BIG TIME More to this story than just those two things going on - sure we see Jonas getting a bit obsessed with helping out Sarah, and Sarah who doesn't really care either way about her big "O" .
But believe me, by the end of this book, you'll be glued to it - I actually already started book 2 a few minutes ago - then I decided I needed to write out my review before my focus got cloudy :)

So here it is - Book one - Jonas and Sarah - great story! Fun romance, and hell - send me to Brizel - I want to hear those cute little monkey's howl :)


Image result for The Club by Lauren Rowe




Book Blitz Come Undone by Penny Dee


Come Undone
Penny Dee
Publication date: February 18th 2017
Genres: Adult, Romance, Sports
JAKE
“You want to know why I train? It’s because it’s the only time I’m not thinking about Tyler and the fact that I killed him.”
Jake Pennington is a hockey super star. Hot. Rich. Gorgeous. And super talented. But when a series of personal tragedies rock his world, Jake’s life is ripped apart and he is brought to his knees. Broken and completely devastated, he retreats to his family cabin in Canada desperate to forget the world and something he once knew as happiness.
MACKENZIE
“My therapist would say it was me trying to reclaim my life back. To recapture the girl I had once been—frightened of nothing and living life on a whim.”
Mackenzie Eden is battling her own demons. Following a horrific incident in college, Mackenzie throws herself into her job as a means to outrun her pain and her litany of phobias. When her path crosses with Jake Pennington she sees a way to bring them both out of the darkness and back into the light.
Only, Jake’s not buying it. He doesn’t want a sports agent and he doesn’t want a hockey career. Not that Mackenzie is willing to listen. She has a point to prove, not to mention, a bet to win.
Come Undone is a story of two people finding each other in the darkness. A sports romance, it will make you laugh, cry and fall head over heels in love.
EXCERPT:
Mackenzie
When I came out of the bathroom, Jake had changed into a clean pair of sweats that hung low on his slim hips. He was shirtless and when he turned around, his spectacular torso came into view. I stopped in my tracks. Holy hell!
He grinned when he saw me in his flannel shirt.
I shifted self-consciously from one foot to the other. “I guess I was thinking it would be something a little more . . . hockeyish.” I said, holding down the short hem.
He rolled his eyes. “Because that’s what we hockey players do—save our hockey jerseys for sleepovers.”
I exhaled deeply, wondering about the sleeping arrangements. There was only one bed.
As if he could read my mind, Jake said, “Relax, Z. I’ll take the couch.”
It was a good, decent offer in theory. But in practice, it was a frustrating fail. Jake was way too big for the squeaky two-seater sofa, and every time he tried to get comfortable the springs moaned and groaned beneath his weight.
Lying rigid in his comfortable bed, I finally had enough and sat up. “Oh, for Christ’s sake, you can hop into bed with me.”
But Jake decided to play the martyr. “I’m fine. I will fall asleep soon.”
“When? Dawn?” I sighed. “Will you please just come and share this bed with me, Jake?”
The two-seater sofa wheezed as he sat up. “Fine. But just so you know, I’m not having sex with you.”
I watched him cross the room. “You’re hysterical.”
“I mean it. I’m not that type of guy,” he said, standing next to the bed in all his six-pack glory.
“Trust me, I’m not that type of girl.” I sank back into the pillow. “You’re completely safe with me.”
The mattress sank beside me as Jake climbed in and moved about until he was comfortable.
Awkwardness hung between us as we both lay there and stared up at the ceiling.
“Want to cuddle?” Jake finally asked, totally breaking the awkwardness between us.
I broke into laughter but threw a spare pillow at him as a warning. “Stay on your side. I warn you, I bite.”
He shoved the pillow I’d thrown at him behind his head. “Now you’re just coming on to me.”
I chuckled. “Pervert.”
He looked over and grinned, and goddamn if I didn’t want to kiss him.
I quickly turned away to study the ceiling.
Yep. I was in trouble.


Author Bio:
I have always written stories for as long as I can remember. I wrote my first book when I was five years old. It was called 'The Goodies' and it was a short story about driving to the shops to get some milk. Needless to say, it was a very short book and hardly the page turner. It was also illustrated in orange felt tip pen because it was the only felt tip pen left in the pencil case that wasn’t dried up and useless.
My first attempt at writing romance was in high school when my athletic ambitions were replaced with Sunday sessions in my bestfriends bedroom, smoking cigarettes and writing smut about the hot guy at school. They were dreadfully crude stories. Lots of awkward fumblings in the dark or a series of awful first kisses. They were also very straight forward. Very straight to the point. Because I didn’t have a clue about what I was talking about. And I used terrible words such as “shaft”, “her moist warmth” and “velvet cavern”…yeah, they were awesome!
In following years I wisely gave up the cigarettes, became Mum to the “best kid in the world” and married a vastly understanding and supportive soul who tolerated the complete absence of my inner domestic goddess. Through a lot of trial and error, I think I may have started to write stories other people would want to read … without an orange felt tip pen in sight…
Oh … and you can find me in Australia.

XBTBanner1