Monday, November 26, 2012

Loving Summer by Kaitin Gow

Loving Summer (Loving Summer, #1)

YA Contemporary Romance
Title: Loving Summer
Author: Kailin Gow
Date Published: 5/28/12

After not having seen childhood family friends, Rachel and her brothers Nathaniel and Drew in three years, sixteen year old Summer Jones, who has always spent her summers with the Donovans at her Aunt Sookie's Malibu beach house, discovers there is more to her long-time crush on one of the Donovan brothers this summer than meets the eye, especially when Astor Fairway, the handsome television star taking her aunt's acting coaching sessions, notices her. This summer, the summer she is noticed, would be the summer no one could forget.

Kailin Gow

Author Bio
Kailin Gow has appeared on top national syndicated talk shows such as ABC Radio, Barbara Dooley show, Chat with Women on KKNW Seattle, Broadminded on Sirius Radio XM, and more as a leading authority on YA and women's issues including self-esteem, body image, dating and sexual relationships, abuse, and bullying. Kailin has been a published author for over 10 years with over 100 titles published under her name and under pen names.

She is the founder of the community social site, The Saving You Saving Me Project, which helps teens, young adults, and women deal with social issues like sexual abuse, self-esteem, body image, bullying, cutting, relationships, and more in a positive community environment. The Saving You Saving Me Project is an extention of her YA-mature fiction Saving You Saving Me.
Kailin Gow began writing books for tween girls to help them with self-confidence and self-esteem. Her book, Gifted Girls Activities Guide to 365 Days of the Week, became a reference book used in girls organizations across the U.S. As her tween fans grew to become teens and young adults, Kailin began writing engaging and entertaining young adult book series for them. The results are book series like the Frost Series, PULSE Series, Wicked Woods Series, Stoker Sisters, Phantom Diaries, The Fire Wars, FADE, DESIRE, and more.

All her books are inspired by personal experiences. Saving You Saving Me was inspired by her experience as a peer counselor for young women during college and from her psychology major college roommate's experience being in a relationship similar to the one portrayed by Sam and Collins in the book. Loving Summer was inspired by Kailin's experience growing up with a family consisting of a mother, two sons, and a daughter who went through a similar experience of tragedy in the book. Aunt Sookie is based on herself and some actor friends she knows. The Frost Series, Circus of Curiosities Series, and FADE Series came about through vivid dreams. Never Say Never was inspired by Kailin's experience as a radio host and working with and interviewing bands, as well as having college friends who were in bands. Kailin also played the drums and keyboard for a band she once started. A classically-trained musician, she was once led her school orchestra, playing first chair violin. Her experience in the music world and her love of Phantom of the Opera, inspired the Phantom Diaries. PULSE was inspired when Kailin was in the hospital suffering from heavy blood loss post surgery and needed several bags of blood to survive (like a vampire). Beautiful Beings was inspired by her college encounter with a young demon exorcist. A pastor once told her she had the gift of sight and that she was destined to become a prolific author, many times over.

She began taking her writing seriously when her daughter was diagnosed as being on the spectrum and her mother was fighting three types of cancer. Four years later, her daughter was no longer on the spectrum, and her mother became cancer free. Kailin believes in hope and miracles, after having been through several struggles and experiences herself. This is why she writes.
When not busy inhaling chocolate and drinking coffee by the gallon, Kailin makes time for writing fantasy books, blogging as an expert blogger for Fast Company, volunteering as an Emergency Responder and volunteering for battered women's shelters. For fun, she plays the electric violin, and puts together a music playlist for her radio and web shows.
Her Frost Series consisting of the Bitter Frost Series, The Wolf Fey Series, and the Fairy Rose Chronicles along with her other book series are being developed into worldwide MMORPG Games by SEE GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT, which is the world's leading game developer known for developing the top blockbuster films into games.

Contact Links
To sign up for news on new releases, contests, events, and more, join
Twitter - @kailingow

Jen's Review

I have to say that I base a lot of my decisions on how I like books on the ending - I did like the ending. it set things up well for the next book in the series, and it left you wanting to read more.

Every summer since they were kids they would go over to Summer's Aunt Sookie's beach house - the 4 kids, Nat, Drew, Rachel and Summer grew up as best friends.

Rachel and Drew are twins and Nat is just a year older. They took a break coming to the Beach house after Nat, Drew and Rachel moved to San Fransico. And now 3 years later, they are all back at the beach house.

This time they've all grown up. Drew filled out into his Jock bod - which all girls seem to love. His playboy personality has grown into his giant ego -

Nat has grown, too. But with his girlfriend in San Francisco, and life being guided into what his father wants him to be, he doesn't have much time for anything else.

Rachel is her new and improved look of a Goth - but her same sweet personality has stayed.

Then there is Summer. She's not the same 13 year old awkward shy girl with pigtails and braces. She filled out and is now more gorgeous then ever..

And she has finally caught the attention of the two guys she has always had a thing for.. but what's stopping her from going forth??

At a welcome home party one of their friends have thrown, Summer see's Rachel in the corner with Ryan, Drew took off with a girl and Nat is hanging out with some friends. So she goes for a walk with Astor .. one of the actors from Aunt Sookie's acting school.

Astor is a great guy, a sweetheart that seems to really care for Summer. Nat confesses that he has feelings for Summer, always has, but things are complicated now, Drew blames his many one night stands by being extra cute and he can't fight the girls off -

But Summer finds herself drawn into situations with all 3 of these guys, and her feelings are being tugged around.

Who will she end up with??

Well that's why I kept reading through the story . I was really curious about who she ended up with.. Now I'm actually anxious to read book #2 to find out how that one plays out.

No comments: